AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jlai
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 1 of 7 (371 Views)
Accepted Solution

Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox

371 Views, 6 Replies
06-18-2012 09:00 AM

I am currently using AutoCAD Map 3D 2012. In previous version, there is a Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox and a Allow other labels to obscure feature symbols on the layer checkbox in the Style Editor window. I can’t seem to find it in the 2012 version. Try following this wiki help http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Infr._Map_Server/enu/2012/Help/0000-Studio_U0/0076-Working_76/0083-Crea...  but I don’t know where to click on the “Point Style area” in the step 3. It’s probably something that is super easy that I just can’t figure out.

 

Thanks for helping!

 

Thank you for the additional info!

 

As you probably know, the Style Editor was compelely revamped with the 2012 release (Basic Styles have now become Enhanced Styles). One of the changes made is this (as described in the readme): Label stacking is not supported. To show multiple point labels, assign an offset.

 

I hope this helps at least explain things.

Product Support
phil_borycens
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 2 of 7 (356 Views)

Re: Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox

06-19-2012 03:47 PM in reply to: jlai

The reason that help article doesn't apply to your situation is because that article is written for a different program! That article is in the Autodesk Infrastucture Map Server help; you are using AutoCAD Map 3D.

 

For me to help you, please allow me to ask:

What type of data are you connected to (SHP, SDF, Oracle, etc.)?

What type of geometry is this data (points, lines, polygons, mixed, other)?



Phil Borycens
Active Member
jlai
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 3 of 7 (348 Views)

Re: Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox

06-20-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: phil_borycens

It’s an ODBC connection to our central drill hole database. They are all points features. What I want is to have the label display no matter what zoom scale the drawing is in. (Even if they do over print each other). In 2011 Map3D, I can check the "Label are fixed (not dynamic)" box and that will slove the problem. I can't seem to find that feature in Map 2012. I have attached a pdf of what it looks like in 2011.

Product Support
phil_borycens
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 4 of 7 (333 Views)

Re: Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox

06-21-2012 03:07 PM in reply to: jlai

Thank you for the additional info!

 

As you probably know, the Style Editor was compelely revamped with the 2012 release (Basic Styles have now become Enhanced Styles). One of the changes made is this (as described in the readme): Label stacking is not supported. To show multiple point labels, assign an offset.

 

I hope this helps at least explain things.



Phil Borycens
Active Member
jlai
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 5 of 7 (313 Views)

Re: Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox

06-25-2012 08:02 AM in reply to: phil_borycens

Thanks for sending me that link. Now is there a page where I can learn how to assign an offset to show multiple point labels? I'm still kinda new to this data connection thing and I couldn't find anything online or the help meun. If you can point me to the direction of where I can find some instruction, it will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Product Support
phil_borycens
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 6 of 7 (309 Views)

Re: Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox

06-25-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: jlai

Yes, there's not much to know about it...but you can use this page as a reference:

http://docs.autodesk.com/MAP/2012/ENU/filesMRG/GUID-5C871D5C-04BC-4EF2-9758-63A8F5F3141B.htm

 

And it looks like this:

styling-points.PNG



Phil Borycens
Active Member
jlai
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 7 of 7 (306 Views)

Re: Labels are fixed (not dynamic) checkbox

06-25-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: phil_borycens

Thanks!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.