AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
112 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-24-2013
Post 1 of 7

Infrastructure Administrator / Infrastructure Web Server?

463 Views, 6 Replies
11-19-2013 01:33 PM

As I was searching through the Help in Map 3D I came across things that you can do in Infrastructure Administrator. At first I thought it was referring to something that was already part of Map 3D, but after reading a little more it seems like something that has to be installed separately.

 

After fishing around Autodesk's website for a little bit, I have to say I'm pretty darn confused about what exactly Infrastructure Administrator is and how to get it. Is it a separate product that you must purchase a license for, or is it a free add-on or something like that? Is it the same thing as Infrastructure Web Server (which is the closest thing I could find on the products page)? What all does Infrastructure Administator enable you to do (I know a little bit from what I've read, but curious to know more).

*Expert Elite*
2,143 Posts
207 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 2 of 7

Re: Infrastructure Administrator / Infrastructure Web Server?

11-19-2013 03:21 PM in reply to: pocketmerlin

It's the old TopoBase administrator, it's allows you or the administrator of your data to create and administrate databases and tables used with the FDO schemas. If you are useing a database to store you features in there may be little use for a signle user.

It is part of Map3D and should be with the rest of the install files just a seperate install.  

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
182 Posts
28 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Post 3 of 7

Re: Infrastructure Administrator / Infrastructure Web Server?

11-20-2013 12:51 AM in reply to: pocketmerlin

Hi,

from release 2013 onwards Map includes Infrastructure Administrator although you need to install it separately. But it is part of the DVD/Download. Previous to 2013 there were two products:


Map 2012 Enterprise (including Administrator) vs. (plain) Map

 

Topobase 2011,2010,.(including Administrator).. vs. (plain) Map 2011,2010

 

Topobase has always been build on top of Map. But with release 2013  Topobase and Map have been merged into one product just called "Map".

Same applies to MapGuide/AIMS. "Topobase Web" is now part of AIMS and called Infrastructure Extension (or something like that).  

Map comes with so called "Industry Models" comprising of:
- certain data models (either for Oracle, MS SQL or file based SQLLite)
- certain functionality within Map to work efficiently with your industry model data

Oracle and MS SQL are for multi-user environments. Therefore you have additional administrative tasks related to database and multi-user environment – partly done with Infrastructure Administrator.

Industry models included in Map are for: water, wastewater, electricity and further more. ADSK partners offer addiotional industry models. Administrator is  being used for setting up any industry model. You can easily create your own industry model with Infrastructure Administrator.

It is a really interesting product and has - specifically in Europe - a long history. But it is not easy to get started with and certainly complex.  

There a few case studies – as overview:
http://usa.autodesk.com/autocad-map-3d/customers/



Good luck, Rob

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
Distinguished Contributor
112 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-24-2013
Post 4 of 7

Re: Infrastructure Administrator / Infrastructure Web Server?

11-20-2013 06:58 AM in reply to: Robert_Fritz

Thanks for the info, guys.

 

Any idea where the file to install it might be hiding on my computer? I looked around a bit and did some searches with some obvious keywords in the folder where Map 3D is installed on my computer but couldn't find anything.

 

(I have Map 3D 2014, by the way).

Mentor
182 Posts
28 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Post 5 of 7

Re: Infrastructure Administrator / Infrastructure Web Server?

11-20-2013 07:02 AM in reply to: pocketmerlin

Hi,

 

you need to go to Windows 7 administrative panel > software, choose Map and run the installer to add missing components,

By default the program will be installed in C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Autodesk Infrastructure Administrator 2014

 

Good luck.

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
Distinguished Contributor
112 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-24-2013
Post 6 of 7

Re: Infrastructure Administrator / Infrastructure Web Server?

11-20-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: Robert_Fritz

Sorry for perhaps being dense, but I got to and opened the installer (did you mean Control Panel?) and still couldn't figure out how to add Infrastructure Administrator there. 

Mentor
182 Posts
28 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Post 7 of 7

Re: Infrastructure Administrator / Infrastructure Web Server?

11-20-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: pocketmerlin

mh, I *thought* it would be via "add missing features" but as i just checked it's not the case. might be different on my side as i have already everything installed - but there is no screen which shows installed programs belonging to AC Map package.

 

Only other suggestion I have is to insert / start original dvd/donwload setup and see if that allows to add missing program.

 

Sorry for the confusion,

rob

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!