AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
jkennedy11
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
Message 1 of 5 (394 Views)
Accepted Solution

Importing Shape files

394 Views, 4 Replies
12-31-2012 07:35 AM

I am working in AutoCAD map 3D 2011. From my research online, I understand it should be able to import shape files whereas normal versions cannot. I am unable to get my version to recognize the cesus tiger shape files. I am interested in the road information only. I have noticed online that that there should be a "map" or "mapping" option on my toolbar and there is not. Can anyone give me some insight on this?

Sounds like your shapefile and your existing drawing are lying in two different CRS (Coordinate Reference System).

I've no Autocad at home, so here are a few steps "by rote":

1] open the existing drawing

2] set its right CRS with _ADESETCRDSYS command

3] _MAPIMPORT and browse to the .SHP file

4] in the Mapimport dialog window, declare the CRS of the shape.

In that way, the .SHP will be converted on-the-fly to the drawing's CRS.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,750
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 5 (392 Views)

Re: Importing Shape files

12-31-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: jkennedy11

Command: _MAPIMPORT

Member
jkennedy11
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
Message 3 of 5 (388 Views)

Re: Importing Shape files

12-31-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks! This actually worked, but i still have some problems. I'm importing this into an existing drawing with gps coordinates. This command doesn't let me import the gps data. My tiger maps files include DBF, IDX, PRJ, SHP, XML and SHX. I'm new to shape files so i'm not sure what files are what, but i need the data to math with the existing drawing. Thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,750
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 5 (383 Views)

Re: Importing Shape files

12-31-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: jkennedy11

Sounds like your shapefile and your existing drawing are lying in two different CRS (Coordinate Reference System).

I've no Autocad at home, so here are a few steps "by rote":

1] open the existing drawing

2] set its right CRS with _ADESETCRDSYS command

3] _MAPIMPORT and browse to the .SHP file

4] in the Mapimport dialog window, declare the CRS of the shape.

In that way, the .SHP will be converted on-the-fly to the drawing's CRS.

Member
jkennedy11
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
Message 5 of 5 (378 Views)

Re: Importing Shape files

12-31-2012 08:47 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Very much appreciated! Things look good now.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!