AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
donald.e.clark
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 1 of 11 (471 Views)
Accepted Solution

importing GPS points

471 Views, 10 Replies
08-19-2013 02:44 PM

Should I use a csv file to import GPS points or should I set them up in ArcGIS first?

Use the Survey Tab of the display manager and create a new data store then import the points. Using the mapimport and txt files will lose some of the data.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 11 (449 Views)

Re: importing GPS points

08-20-2013 12:12 AM in reply to: donald.e.clark

Hi,

 

>> Should I use a csv file to import GPS points or should I set them up in ArcGIS first?

....to do what?

Sorry, it depends strongly to what do you want to do with that points? So we need to know that to be able to answer this question.

It's also necessary to know how you have your points currently stored (on what device or in what file format).

 

BTW: what do you mean by "set them up in ArcGIS"?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
donald.e.clark
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 3 of 11 (427 Views)

Re: importing GPS points

08-20-2013 08:21 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

GPS points are saved as a csv and a dxf.  A different file type can probably be used if needed.

I have power pole points for design and road points for reference.  I would say what I want to do is "Convert Data to Industry Models".

The information is arranged:  point number, X, Y, Z, point description.  I am thinking maybe I need to edit the information in ArcGIS then connect AutoCAD to the database file.

Using AUD with all Map 3D tools enabled.  AUD expert told me that my questions are more so about Map 3D.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,668
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: importing GPS points

08-20-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: donald.e.clark

Simply try the _IMPORTPOINTS command, choosing PENZD input format.

Active Contributor
donald.e.clark
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 5 of 11 (413 Views)

Using GPS points as data, maybe not for importing

08-20-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

The descriptions for the pole points states the construction status of the pole.  Existing, Install, or Replacement.  Descriptions for Install states Pole Top.  What steps do I need to go through to have the different types of pole status in the Display Manage?

I want to use Attribute Data and Industry Models.  Now I am thinking that "Convert Data to Industry Models" doesn't work for txt or csv files.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,980
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 11 (406 Views)

Re: Using GPS points as data, maybe not for importing

08-20-2013 05:10 PM in reply to: donald.e.clark

Use the Survey Tab of the display manager and create a new data store then import the points. Using the mapimport and txt files will lose some of the data.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Contributor
donald.e.clark
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 7 of 11 (390 Views)

Re: Using GPS points as data, maybe not for importing

08-21-2013 09:59 AM in reply to: Murph

Points didn't show.  What am I doing wrong?  What file type should I import when using the data store?  Oh, creating the data store does not import the points?

I can xref the dxf of the GPS points but regular AutoCAD has that capability.

What is the best way to use the raw data I have, in AUD (as Map 3D) with Industry Models to create Object Data?  Would there be recommanded data editing before importing it?

There might be several steps that I am planning to do in the wrong order.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,668
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 11 (382 Views)

Re: Using GPS points as data, maybe not for importing

08-21-2013 11:20 AM in reply to: donald.e.clark

Please share with us your .CSV file, just to cast an eye over it, sir.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,980
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 11 (373 Views)

Re: Using GPS points as data, maybe not for importing

08-21-2013 04:47 PM in reply to: donald.e.clark

After you create the data store you need to import the points, after that you can style (display) the points as you like, by the attributtes.

Upload a few lines of the cvs file and we'll show you.

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Contributor
donald.e.clark
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 10 of 11 (358 Views)

Task Pane Survey tab, csv is best

08-22-2013 07:21 AM in reply to: Murph

One last issue for this tread:  I do not need point numbers displayed.  I would prefer the point descriptions be displayed instead.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.