AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing ESRI data into Map

20 REPLIES 20
Message 1 of 21
mvilla724
1129 Views, 20 Replies

Importing ESRI data into Map

I have a directory that contains .dbf, .prj, .sbn, .sbx, .shp & .shx files. How do import or use this data in Autodesk Map? I'm sure someone has asked before. Also, I would like to know about obtaining GIS training. I've been a survey tech for years now, time to learn some more stuff.

thanks,
Michael
20 REPLIES 20
Message 2 of 21
Anonymous
in reply to: mvilla724

It all depends on what you want to do with the
data/files after you bring it into Map3D. The mapimport command will create
AutoCAD objects out of the files and allow you to create a Object Data table
from the attributtes attaching them to the geometry. The data connect tool (FDO)
will allow you to view and/or edit the geometry and its data in its native
format.

For the training a good start would be at AU
href="http://www.au.autodesk.com">www.au.autodesk.com
or check with your
reseller. If you happen to be in the southeast US give me a shout and I'll post
our next class dates, in the mean time spend a few minutes or hours reading my
blog.

style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
have a directory that contains .dbf, .prj, .sbn, .sbx, .shp & .shx files.
How do import or use this data in Autodesk Map? I'm sure someone has asked
before. Also, I would like to know about obtaining GIS training. I've been a
survey tech for years now, time to learn some more stuff. thanks,
Michael
Message 3 of 21
Soocom1

This data can be used for spatial analysis, cartography, including thematic, and choropleth maps.