AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
martinpd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 1 of 8 (548 Views)

Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

548 Views, 7 Replies
06-06-2012 04:48 AM

I don't use autocad a lot so I'm still a newbie in many respects.  I have Autocad Map3D 2010.  I have a set of points in a CSV file containing points, latitude and longitude, in columns, that I want to import to a map and place the points (houses) in the appropriate locations with the house number.  I click IMPORT, MAP IMPORT, select my file as PNE and the data in the preview window appears correctly.  I'm using OH83-SF coordinate code which the map is.  When I click OK it appears to have completed the command but nothing appears on the map and I get no error notifications.  As a test I put an incorrect value in one of the lists and it did flag the error.  I've tried space delimiters, commas, txt and Excell tables and always the same - nothing.  I've tried the command line MULTIPLE POINTS and entered the geo coordinates and again - nothing appears on the map.  Help me out while I still have a little hair left to pull.

 

Paul

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 2 of 8 (546 Views)

Re: Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

06-06-2012 05:05 AM in reply to: martinpd

zoom extents  Ctrl A   do the points highlight

 

if you import into a map in CS lat long do the points show up?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 8 (545 Views)

Re: Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

06-06-2012 05:12 AM in reply to: martinpd

Start over in a BLANK drawing, reimport those points, finally perform a Zoom Extents, sir.

Member
martinpd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 4 of 8 (539 Views)

Re: Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

06-06-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: martinpd

Nothing shows up except the computer seems to freeze for a few minutes.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 8 (532 Views)

Re: Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

06-06-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: martinpd

Please paste here a couple of .CSV lines, thanks.

By the way, look in Windows Control Panel if your decimal separator is a dot, and NOT a comma.

Member
martinpd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 6 of 8 (523 Views)

Re: Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

06-06-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: antoniovinci
I've tried both comma and space separators. Here's a few lines: 44,38.9101,-83.1144 498,38.9102,-83.1138 33,38.9079,-83.117 136,38.8211,-83.1332 230,38.8218 -83.1322 336,38.8244 -83.1285 526,38.8263 -83.1279 Paul **NOTICE: This electronic mail message from Horizon and any files transmitted with it are intended exclusively for the individual or entity to which it is addressed. The message, together with any attachments, may contain confidential and/or privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, print, save, copy, disclosure or distribution is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please immediately advise the sender by reply email and delete all copies.
Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 7 of 8 (521 Views)

Re: Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

06-06-2012 01:45 PM in reply to: martinpd

the numbers worked fine after I inserted the missing commas.

 

dave

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 8 (519 Views)

Re: Importing csv geo coordinates to map problems

06-06-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: martinpd

martinpd wrote:
I've tried both comma and space separators

Well, I was talking about the Control Panel separator, not in the same .CSV, sir...

Second, are you sure that every PNE record stays in its own line?


In other words, it must appear like this: 
44,38.9101,-83.1144
498,38.9102,-83.1138
33,38.9079,-83.117


and not:
44,38.9101,-83.1144 498,38.9102,-83.1138 33,38.9079,-83.117

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.