AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
archaeoman
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Message 1 of 5 (168 Views)

How can i change the decimal numbers from text

168 Views, 4 Replies
12-15-2013 02:45 PM

Dear all,

 

I have what I thought a simple problem but without an easy answer.

 

I have an AutoCAD map 3d 2014 .dwg with points that have object data and Easting, Northing and elevation values.

 

I am displaying the text of those points in particular the elevation value. This is done through task pane>data>add drawing layer>add style>text...

 

I hit the properties and select the Z1 from the object properties...

 

All is well and the text comes as e.g. 24.89752

 

The above number is accurate, however, I only want two or three decimal points since the number is too long.

 

Is there a way to reconfigure this so that the number is displayed as 24.89?

 

Thank you for your help.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,088
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (154 Views)

Re: How can i change the decimal numbers from text

12-15-2013 05:25 PM in reply to: archaeoman

In older versions you could use (rtos 2 3) .z1 but I just checked in 2014 and that doesn't work anymore. Either does setting the units to display 2 in the precision for dwg units.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
olivier.eckmann
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎02-14-2009
Message 3 of 5 (130 Views)

Re: How can i change the decimal numbers from text

12-16-2013 12:00 AM in reply to: Murph

Hi

 

in my french MAP 2014 if I use (rtos .Z1 2 2)  for the Value, it works fine

 

Olivier

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (126 Views)

Re: How can i change the decimal numbers from text

12-16-2013 12:53 AM in reply to: Murph

Hi,

 

>> that doesn't work anymore

What are the results you get, error messages or not rounded?

Not to forget: the sysvar DIMZIN influences also the results from RTOS (>>>click<<<).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,088
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (117 Views)

Re: How can i change the decimal numbers from text

12-16-2013 04:02 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred.NESWADBA wrote:

What are the results you get, error messages or not rounded?

 

- alfred -


It was an users error, my mistake, my old age  catching up with me or in plain english I got it backwards.

(RTOS .Z1 2 3) works but (RTOS 2 2 ).z1 doesn't work.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.