AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
Message 1 of 7 (469 Views)

Green areas in PDF with raster image

469 Views, 6 Replies
04-26-2013 02:03 AM

Hello,

 

I have a problem with a drawing, containing aerial images.

 

1. Drawing

 

If I try to plot it as PDF, using "Adobe PDF" or "PDF-Creator" as printer, I see green areas in my PDF. Here the result:

 

2.Adobe_PDF

 

If I use the AutoCAD Printer "DWG to PDF.pc3", there is no problem. Here the result:

 

3. DWG to PDF

 

For the creating of PDF files I can use the AutoCAD printer, that is no problem, but I have the same Problem if i try to plot a drawing with aerial images on a Plotter (HP 1050C) or any other printer in our office.

Here are the specification of our worstation:

 

4.System

 

I hope you have a solution for this problem.

 

Best regards,

Thomas

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,659
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 7 (453 Views)

Re: Green areas in PDF with raster image

04-26-2013 03:33 AM in reply to: HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096

Why don't you simply print (on the HP plotter) the .PDF by "DWG to PDF.pc3"..?

Member
HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
Message 3 of 7 (447 Views)

Re: Green areas in PDF with raster image

04-26-2013 04:44 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Because I have to create a PDF file first, every time I want to plot something containig an aerial image.

In our old AutoCAD 2007 we didn't have any problems!

Is it possible that I have to change something in my Plotter-settings?

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,659
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 7 (444 Views)

Re: Green areas in PDF with raster image

04-26-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096

HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096 wrote:

Is it possible that I have to change something in my Plotter-settings?


To answer to such a question, liebe Herr, you should send the correct PDF to your plotter, period.

Depending on this simple test, we'll be able to judge what's going on.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 7 (426 Views)

Re: Green areas in PDF with raster image

04-26-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096

Hi,

 

I would verify the filetype (for your raster file), if you are using ECW ... does it help to use TIFF instead?

Have you referenced that images using FDO or MAPIINSERT?

Have you activated transparency?

What visual style did you asign to your viewport?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
Message 6 of 7 (390 Views)

Re: Green areas in PDF with raster image

04-29-2013 04:44 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

The filetype is png. The pictures come from the plugin Pleax.Earth 3. They were automatically georeferenced by this tool. Transparency is on. I also tried to insert jpg instead of png with the same result.
I've uploaded the DWG, the PDF and the aerial images (PDF was created with Adobe PDF printer).

 

http://www.file-upload.net/download-7530782/Test.zip.html

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 7 (360 Views)

Re: Green areas in PDF with raster image

05-01-2013 07:41 AM in reply to: HermannJosefLiesenfeld8096

Hi,

 

I don't know the application you use (Plex.Earth), but I guess the problem is based on how that application does the image referencing. If you look to your drawing, select one image-object by clicking onto it's border and then move it away. The result is that every of these 4 images have the same bordersize, but only part of the border is filled with pixels.

Look to that screenshot were I moved that images by one image-height/image-width so you see the image-border is bigger than the image itself and they have a really big part of "empty" area.

 

2013-05-01 16-37-44.png

 

If we now think about how overlayed images have to be plotted this application assumes that an image has something like an alpha channel (and yes, they are saved with 32bit), but having overlapping images means now it depends on the sorting of the images (command _DRAWORDER) how they are sent out to the destination. If the destination does not know how to work with alpha it may result in problems .... that's were you are.

 

And last but not least, open your PDF with a really slow pc ==> you will see that there is not one image with a green part, no, there are all images in it regenerating one after the other and green should be transparent, but not correct interpreted from the driver.

 

At least I guess you are right, the drivers are different working in that case, green is wrong. BUT I would never ever try to use images with empty area's ... that is really unusual!

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.