AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
donsala
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Message 1 of 10 (1,211 Views)

Google Earth to Map 3d

1211 Views, 9 Replies
02-21-2012 07:29 AM

Spanish:

Es posible importar o abrir archivos kmz (google earth) en autocad map 3d?

 

English:

You can import or open files kmz (google earth) in autocad map 3d?

saludos,
d.s.
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 2 of 10 (1,207 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: donsala

Yes, but you should look for the KML FDO Provider from http://sl-king.com/fdokml/fdokml.html.  It may not work if you're using a 64-bit machine.  You could work around with a FDO2FDO to convert the KML to SHP first.

 

Please update if you need more information.


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
donsala
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Message 3 of 10 (1,202 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: thepworth

ok.
download the 7.7 version ...
how it works?

saludos,
d.s.
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 4 of 10 (1,198 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: donsala

You've lost me with  7.7 version - of which software SL-King, or Google Earth?  to get SL-King's version working, follow their instructions from readme.txt:

 

For 2011 Map3D:

 


========================================================= FDO KingKML Provider Installation Notes ========================================================= ---------------------------------------------------------- 1. Installing the provider For Windows : 1.1 Install King.KML provider Copy the provider file (KingKmlProvider.dll and libexpat.dll) to the location of FDO libraries. On Windows, it would be in the \FDO subdirectory of where your MapGuide Server component is installed, e.g. C:\Program Files\MapGuideOpenSource\Server\Bin\FDO * Add an entry for the provider to the providers.xml file. <FeatureProvider> <Name>King.KML</Name> <DisplayName>King Provider for KML</DisplayName> <Description>Read/write access to spatial and attribute data in KML file</Description> <IsManaged>False</IsManaged> <Version>0.1.1.0</Version> <FeatureDataObjectsVersion>3.3.1.0</FeatureDataObjectsVersion> <LibraryPath>KingKmlProvider.dll</LibraryPath> </FeatureProvider> Make sure you match the FDO version to whatever the other entries in the provider.xml are using (in this example it is 3.3.1.0). ---------------------------------------------------------- 2. Using the provider in MapGuide/Map Connecting to an KML data source in MapGuide Studio is done by creating a new Data Connection to the KingKML provider and setting connection properties. 1. File (Enter path to KML file)




C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
donsala
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,192 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: thepworth

does not work,,,, I'm having problems I think is the software version 0.7.7 ...
these online?

saludos,
d.s.
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 6 of 10 (1,187 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 08:35 AM in reply to: donsala

can you post your machine configuration - what operating system, 32- vs 64-bit, & Map3D software version?  


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
donsala
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Message 7 of 10 (1,185 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 08:38 AM in reply to: thepworth

ok.
w7 32-bit,  and map 3d 2010

saludos,
d.s.
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 8 of 10 (1,179 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: donsala

so from the SL-King website, I'd download the version v0.2.1 Windows 32-bit FDO 3.4.

 

The providers.xml entry is correct in the download for 3.4.0.0, so I'm not sure.

 

can you compress/.zip your .kml and I"ll take a look at it when I have some "free" time :smileyhappy:

 


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
donsala
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Message 9 of 10 (1,177 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: thepworth

ok.
I am downloading the 0.2.2 version which is what is available.

attached the example of my kml.

saludos,
d.s.
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 10 of 10 (1,170 Views)

Re: Google Earth to Map 3d

02-21-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: donsala

I followed the readme instructions for the 3.4 provider, as I'm using 2011.  The KML came into Civil3D the same as my google earth... 

 

Has it worked for you?


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.