AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
rferguson7
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 1 of 10 (2,187 Views)
Accepted Solution

Georeferenced Images

2187 Views, 9 Replies
01-30-2012 11:14 AM

I have some aerial images inserted in Map 2012 (Win 7 64-bit, Infrastructure Suite 2012 Premium). I need to send these to someone using ArcMap (not sure of version). I tried just eTransmitting the dwg to them and that did not work. What is the best way to send this to them so that the images will hold the georeference?

Contributor
drusselle
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
Message 2 of 10 (2,180 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: rferguson7

Hi,

What file type is the air photo?

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 3 of 10 (2,172 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 01:55 PM in reply to: rferguson7

if you use the old "mapiinsert" for Map Image Insert command, then they'll come through.  FDO does not xref....

 

you'll have to use mapiinsert to get the images into a drawing in their native coordinates and then attach/drawing query to transform the coordinate system into your working CS - 

 

not too bad, but not as easy as we'd like....

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
rferguson7
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 4 of 10 (2,169 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 02:05 PM in reply to: thepworth

Thanks for your responses!

 

They are jpeg's that were inserted as images via Civil 3D 2012. I spent A LOT (several days...we are talking several jpegs per drawing and about a dozen drawings) of time scaling, rotating, and translating them into the correct position using NAD83 coordinate system. I now have been told that the images need to be georeferenced and used in ArcMap. When I opened the file I made in Map, and go to MAPIINSERT the photos again using the existing photos as a guide, it then shows in the Image Management that they are there twice. Does this not mean that the original images are ok? I am just wondering if I go thru all the trouble to re-insert them all using MAPIINSERT will it even make a difference or is it simply the way I am transmitting the file to them or something they may be doing incorrectly on their end??? 

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 5 of 10 (2,167 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 02:08 PM in reply to: rferguson7

if they're in the same place, then the problem looks like it's at the other end (ARC).  not having arc here, can't be of much further help.  C3D/Map3D doesn't write out world files for use w/o having "Raster Design" running on top :smileysad:

 

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news... unless someone can point me out as wrong - which i'd be happy to admit my (near) ignorance :smileywink:

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
rferguson7
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 6 of 10 (2,159 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 02:38 PM in reply to: thepworth

Ok, so just to be extra sure this is not me, the proper procedure to give this to them would be:

 

1. MAPIINSERT the jpeg and make same location, scale, and rotation adjustments as before,

2. Save

3. eTransmit the file to a zip file and email to them.

 

Is this correct? Sorry, I know this has been discussed but I want to just be certain that the problem is not on my end and confirm that eTransmit is the way to go. Thanks again. 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (2,157 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 02:53 PM in reply to: rferguson7

Are they running AutoCAD with the ESRI ArcMap extension? If they are not opening the dwgs in AutoCAD then the image referances may not be of any use to them. If the images are georeferanced and have the world file with them they can use the dwg as is and then insert the images in ESRI ArcView.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 8 of 10 (2,153 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 03:01 PM in reply to: rferguson7

Lemme back you off a step or two.  Mapiinsert is more oriented towards inserting georeferenced images into the images' native coordinate system, such as from a .PRJ projection file & .TFW Tiff world file that collectively state the coordinate system of the image & reference a given location (i.e. center of top left pixel & pixel dimension in x/y values & x/y scales).  great if you just want to bring in an orthophoto background.  if you're bringing in an image and using rotate/scale/align to "rubbersheet" it to match your drawing, then all of the work/processing from mapiinsert will be discarded.  so you don't want to mix the two.  however, if you have Raster Design, then you could take a image (such as an as-built scan from construction drawings) & rotate/stretch/align to match a vector drawing and then push out a .TFW & .PRJ for that drawing to be used with other software that understands georeferencing (i.e. Arc).  don't mean to confuse you, but what is the imagery your'e wanting to transmit?  let's start there...


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,661
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 10 (2,143 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-30-2012 11:31 PM in reply to: thepworth

thepworth wrote:

i'd be happy to admit my (near) ignorance :smileywink:


Be happy, sir.

You can definetely create a Worldfile with this free tool.


Moreover I would import that pair JPG+JGW in the opensource Quantum Gis, in order to generate a full georeferenced  true Geotiff. 

Contributor
rferguson7
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 10 of 10 (2,124 Views)

Re: Georeferenced Images

01-31-2012 02:38 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

THANK YOU antoniovinci  !!!!!

 

That worked perfectly to output a jpw that is nice compact and emailable. Exactly what I was looking for. Cheers! :smileyhappy: 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.