AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
philsla
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Message 1 of 8 (211 Views)

Generating links - not understanding

211 Views, 7 Replies
05-11-2012 04:25 PM

So, first off, let me say I am brand new to this. I have been getting crash lessons from the net, reading my books and today from a gentleman that does this sort of stuff all the time. He came by to show me how to import a database and link the objects in my dwg to the database. He did a great job and I tried to follow along to his rapid fire clicking and choosing. But, I was not able to take notes along the way. So when he left, after my 10 min. lesson, I attempted to re-create the steps he took and I have hit a brick wall.

 

I opened my dwg, did a map import of my shp files. In the task plane, I attached my db file. I then created a link template and chose the proper column with the unique identification number. Now, (I THINK) I am supposed to "generate links". I go through that process and it says 0 files linked. I know I am forgetting something he did just before this point. My map just shows closed polygons, with  no text. Most things I have found say you have to link text inside the polygons to the records. He did NOT do that. I am not sure what he did however.

 

When he was finished with our sample map, you could click on a line in table and it would zoom to the polygon on the map. My attempt does not do this. Help please!!!

 

Steve

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (202 Views)

Re: Generating links - not understanding

05-12-2012 03:37 AM in reply to: philsla

Does your polygons have Object Data attached to them that has one field that matches one field in the database table? Did you create the OD when you imported it?

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
philsla
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Message 3 of 8 (191 Views)

Re: Generating links - not understanding

05-12-2012 06:42 AM in reply to: philsla

I do have object data attached and my unique number that I am trying to link form the DB file is in the object data.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,662
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 8 (182 Views)

Re: Generating links - not understanding

05-12-2012 02:38 PM in reply to: philsla

philsla wrote:

I do have object data attached


Before "generating links", your guru typed in _MAPOD2ASE in order to convert those embedded Object Data to Database Links, sir.

Contributor
philsla
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Message 5 of 8 (179 Views)

Re: Generating links - not understanding

05-12-2012 06:19 PM in reply to: philsla

Could very well be. I will give that a try. Then, I generate the links?

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,662
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 8 (172 Views)

Re: Generating links - not understanding

05-13-2012 01:15 AM in reply to: philsla

Ain't no Autocad at home, so I can't remember if _MAPOD2ASE just creates links instead of _ADEGENLINK, but I think so. 

Contributor
philsla
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Message 7 of 8 (149 Views)

Re: Generating links - not understanding

05-14-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: philsla

Those commands were not recognized. I failed to mention I was using an old version of Map, 2007

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,662
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 8 (144 Views)

Re: Generating links - not understanding

05-14-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: philsla



http://goo.gl/ch8gt
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.