AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
glanglois
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 1 of 6 (296 Views)

General question/New to mapping with CAD

296 Views, 5 Replies
09-28-2012 10:46 AM

Hello all,

 

I'm going to preface this post by saying I'm a complete newbie to mapping with AutoCad. That being said, I do have experience with other CAD products.

 

The project: Taking survey data (x,yz) where x,y are coordinates and z is elevation and drawing a 3d polyline in the program. It is my hopes that I can do so over a basemap of the area we are working in. I am hoping to do this as simply as possible.

 

I was wondering if someone could speak to the basics of how to do this or provide me some good references to use. In addition, I am a student (this project is for engineers without borders) so I have access to a wide variety of CAD and GIS suites if you feel that one will suite my needs better.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Grant

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 6 (292 Views)

Re: General question/New to mapping with CAD

09-28-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: glanglois

glanglois wrote:

Taking survey data ... and drawing a 3d polyline


Would you please elaborate that, e.g. with a couple of screenshots?

Active Member
glanglois
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 3 of 6 (287 Views)

Re: General question/New to mapping with CAD

09-28-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks for the reply! I don't have much now to take a screenshot of. Let me try to clarify my intent?

 

We are contructing a water pipeline in a foreign country as volunteers. Our survey team recently surveyed the area and gave us various coordinates for the pipeline.

 

They are in the form <Easting,Northing,Elevation>

 

I am able to plot the line to problem using these points; however I would like to incorporate a basemap of the area to go under this data. (e.g so that the points of the pipeline corrsepond to a point on the map). 

 

I guess i'm just wondering what the best way to approach this project is.

 

Thanks

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 6 (283 Views)

Re: General question/New to mapping with CAD

09-28-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: glanglois

Well, if you want to put a background aerial image under your 3Dpoly, you may _MAPCONNECT to a WMS server like http://wms.latlon.org/?layers=osm

Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 5 of 6 (256 Views)

Re: General question/New to mapping with CAD

09-29-2012 09:19 PM in reply to: glanglois

If I understand you correctly, you wish to draw a polyline between a set of xyz points. 

 

I use civil3D. I don't really use Map3D but maybe the commands are similar or if you also have civil3D, then it is pretty easy:

 

- insert menu, import tab, create points from file (say ENZ space delimited for x y z file). Each individual points will automatically be assigned a number starting at 1. 

- now you can create either a 2D or 3D poly depending on your needs - similar process. 

 

- command 3DPOLY (PLINE for 2D)

- when it asks to specify the start: type the following to specify you'll reference point numbers:     'pn

- then when it asks for the point number type in the point number range to include:   1-50 (assuming you have 50 points)

 

Hopefully the process is similar in map3d.

 

Cheers

 

- Mick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2015 SP1
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000 (and another with GTX680)
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 6 (250 Views)

Re: General question/New to mapping with CAD

09-30-2012 01:10 AM in reply to: autoMick

autoMick wrote:
PLINE for 2D

 


The above command closes automatically the chain, while a simple _LINE command will create an open one in the 1-N range.

I wonder why the OP wrote "I am able to plot the line...": I think he'd like only to have a background imagery under his existing polyline...

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.