AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
42 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Post 1 of 10

Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down.

10455 Views, 9 Replies
06-11-2010 12:36 AM

Insert Image, selected  .ecw file (image)

With properties of image -> Misc -> Transparency Color, Select -> Pick a Color on the Image -> OK

The memory grows to 1,8 gb and then gives Fatal Error, Out of Memory, Shutting Down.

Only AutoCAD crashes, system is not shutting down.

Tried with and without /3GB  switch and there was almost no cpu usage.

 

How to solve this problem?

 

 

AUtoCAD MAP 3D 2011 + Raster Design

Windows XP 32, 4 GB

 

 

Marco Kaandorp

Distinguished Contributor
138 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 2 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down.

06-11-2010 12:44 PM in reply to: mkaandorp

Every year I point out the severe limitations of Map and Raster Design when it comes to image handling, and every year I hear that memory utilization is a priority and will be addressed in the next release.  Does that answer your question?

 

Active Contributor
42 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Post 3 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down.

07-02-2010 12:23 AM in reply to: cjneper

Memory

Each time Memory goes to 1,9 GB and then got FATAL ERROR: Out of memory-shutting down.

This happens when opening drawings.

 

I heared AutoCAD 2010 and 2011 don't support swapping ...???

 

/3GB switch is no option. Then we get BSOD.

 

 

XP pro, 32, 4GB, FX1800

 

 

Marco

Valued Mentor
474 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Post 4 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down.

07-02-2010 08:57 PM in reply to: mkaandorp

Part of the issue that you're likely running into is that Autodesk products - C3D and Map3D especially - want large blocks of contiguous memory.  XP is notorious for "fragmenting" the memory - you could have a lot of free RAM, but with small files "thrown here and there," so that while you might have 60% free resources, it's not in a large block.  This is what Peter Funk explained at AU2009.  I'd strongly suggest Win7 - Its letting me work on some amazingly large files that crashes my XP box.

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
Post 5 of 10

Hatching >>Out of memory

09-24-2010 01:57 AM in reply to: mkaandorp

We have the same problem ( boot.ini>3Gb>>Missing Hall.dll or BSOD ! 

Dit you find any other sugerstions/ solutions so far) ?

 

(2 machines with XP pro SP3 4 GIG ,HP compact DC5700)

 

Herbert

Distinguished Contributor
105 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-25-2007
Post 6 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down.

09-24-2010 10:59 AM in reply to: mkaandorp

I once contacted Adesk support for regarding similar problems, here is part of their response:

In the end, as raster data is not native to AutoCAD, we've always had some issues in working with it.  The workaround that we typically suggest in these cases is to "pre" process the images in some image-editing software (like Photoshop, PaintShop Pro, etc.).

Seriously, Photoshop them first?  If Raster is not a native format then why am I paying so much on subscription to keep my Raster Design licenses active each year?  They really need to get raster handling dealt with properly.

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
Post 7 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down/ Hatching

09-27-2010 06:08 AM in reply to: Gary_Braun

Our Solutions for this problem:

In ACAD LT2010 Type in cmd line  HPQUICKPREVIEW and set option =OFF.

 

After changing the standard setting into "off" the error disapeared immediately ! and the hatching process was a lot faster then before. Then I tried this on 3 machines, with the same result :smileyhappy:  Everybody Happy

 

Kind Regards,

 

Herbert Bikker.

 

ICT department Polybouw Aluminium B.V.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
138 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 8 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down/ Hatching

09-27-2010 09:05 AM in reply to: hbikker

the HPQUICKPREVIEW command must be an Autocad Lite only command?

 

I don't see that anywhere in Map.

 

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
Post 9 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down.

09-27-2010 09:32 AM in reply to: mkaandorp

Not special acad 2010 LT:

May bee this is helping you.

http://autodesk.blogs.com/between_the_lines/2010/04/autocad-2011-feature-tips-tricks-10-new-hatch-ti...

 

 

Kind Regards Herbert Bikker

 

Distinguished Contributor
138 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 10 of 10

Re: Fatal Error, Out of memory, Shutting down.

09-27-2010 09:36 AM in reply to: hbikker

My fault.  I was in Map 2010.  That is a new variable for 2011.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post