AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
focusengineering
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-30-2011
Message 1 of 4 (330 Views)

Extent Error with Exported Polygon Shape Files

330 Views, 3 Replies
06-05-2012 08:12 AM

I am exporting shape files for a GIS user.  I am using the correct coordinate system and my untis are in feet and decimal degrees.  I can export the lines and points with attributes and they import into GIS just fine.  When I export a polygon with or without attributes, when i improt them into GIS i get the error "One or more of the added layers has an extent that is not consistent with the associated spatial refernce."  Any ideas what I could do?

Product Support
phil_borycens
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 2 of 4 (307 Views)

Re: Extent Error with Exported Polygon Shape Files

06-07-2012 02:45 PM in reply to: focusengineering

Thank you for posting to the Autodesk Discussion Groups.

 

I'd like to help you resolve this, but the first step really is to gather enough information about your situation.

 

Below I have posted a few questions, and have implied some suggestions within them. So please try the suggestions, and if you resolve this, let us know what you did, for the benefit of myself and the community. If you are still having trouble, please post your answers to the questions.

 

1. What specific action is triggering this error message, and in what program is the error occuring in? A screenshot would be helpful to demonstrate this too.

2. Can you FDO connect to the "problematic" polygon shapefile in AutoCAD Map 3D? Is there any trouble when doing so? If yes, specifically what happens?

3. Which coordinate system is associated with this problematic shapefile? Have you tried using a coordinate system with smaller extents (such as a State Plane CS instead of a World or Continental CS)?

 

Thanks!



Phil Borycens
Active Member
focusengineering
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-30-2011
Message 3 of 4 (296 Views)

Re: Extent Error with Exported Polygon Shape Files

06-08-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: phil_borycens

1. When the GIS user try's to improt the shape file into arch gis they get the following error

 

 

2. When I try and FDO connect the polygon back into Civil 3D Map it doesn;t report an error and it brings in the layer but the polygon does not show up.  Also this is not one specoific polygon that gives me trouble it is all polygons and the lines and points work just fine.

 

3. I am using the UT83-CF (Utah State Planes; NAD83 datum, Central Zone, US Foot) This was the coordinate system I was directed to use by the GIS user who works for a municipality but am willing to try something else but not sure which to try.

Product Support
phil_borycens
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 4 of 4 (290 Views)

Re: Extent Error with Exported Polygon Shape Files

06-08-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: focusengineering

Thank you for your reply.

 

I don't have ArcGIS to test with here, but here are a few more considerations:

  • Is there a PRJ file associated with your SHP? You can open the PRJ to see what kind of extents are defined in it. If there isn't a PRJ or it is blank inside, then you should recreate your shapefile by using MAPEXPORT and defining a coordinate system...
  • In ArcMap, please also check the project (MXD) that you are using to connect to this shapefile. Maybe the boundaries or coordinate system are defined much differently than the SHP that you are connecting to?
  • I didn't really understand your answer to question #2. All I can say is that if you don't see your polygons after connecting to them and Adding to Map in AutoCAD Map 3D, have you tried a ZOOM - ALL or a ZOOM - EXTENTS? What happens when you select the layer in Display Manager and open the Table? Are the records displayed?

You could check the ESRI resources for more information on that error too.

 

I hope this helps!



Phil Borycens
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.