AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
dmole
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 1 of 8 (507 Views)
Accepted Solution

Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

507 Views, 7 Replies
11-08-2013 03:44 AM

Hello,

 

i am rarely new to map 3d. What I would like to do is to export 3 dem surface in any kind of format, so that I could open it in 3d max.

 

I know how to generate Contours, but when I export them to dwg and later open in autocad architecture there are missing info on z coordinate - so everything is flat.

 

Is there some way to make .3ds file or .dwg file so that would really look like a 3d terrain in ACAD architecture or 3d max?

 

Thank you very much!!


dmole wrote:
I would realy need more like step by step guide

  1.  open a blank drawing
  2.  run _ADEDRAWINGS
  3.  attach the contour drawing
  4.  run _ADEQUERY
  5.  click Alter Properties => Elevation => Expression => Expand Object Data => click on your Height field
  6.  click OK back in the Expression Area => click ADD => click OK
  7.  under Query Type, click Location => ALL
  8.  click OK
  9.  under Query Mode, select Draw
  10.  click the Execute Query button
  11.  perform a zoom extents
  12.  run the command ID, and click on contours to check their Z value
  13. if everything works, run again _ADEDRAWINGS, and detach the contour drawing
  14. save all with a new name

 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,062
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (503 Views)

Re: Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

11-08-2013 04:01 AM in reply to: dmole

There are a few ways the easiest is with Civil3D, however if all you have is Map3D then aftyer you create the Contour layer as a SDFfile open a new dwg and import that SDF file. When you import be sure to create object data fron the attributes, Save and close that dwg, then open another blank dwg. Use the map attach tools "ADEDRAWINGS" to attach then do a property query for the elevations. It's a long process for a beginner so post back when you need help and read the help files,

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,750
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 8 (495 Views)

Re: Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

11-08-2013 04:48 AM in reply to: Murph
Murph wrote:

the easiest is with Civil3D


I agree, whilst the cheapest is this one...

Member
dmole
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 4 of 8 (479 Views)

Re: Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

11-08-2013 06:14 AM in reply to: Murph

Thank you, but I would realy need more like step by step guide :smileyhappy:

 

I am good with first step - to safe contours as .sdf and later import to a blank one. However something happens there, but I dont see anything in the model window.  Also dont know how to make query properly.

 

:/

Member
dmole
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 5 of 8 (470 Views)

Re: Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

11-08-2013 06:53 AM in reply to: dmole

until now I have managed to make all the steps, but at the end there are stil just polylines all on same z coordinate...

 

I don't see really a point here. probaly I have done smth wrong....

 

I would need 3d shape of terrain...

 

sorry for beeing such a beginner!

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,062
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 8 (458 Views)

Re: Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

11-08-2013 01:01 PM in reply to: dmole

When you do the query you need to run an alterproperty query. When I get to the house I'll help more, don't hsve Autocad at this job site.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,750
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 7 of 8 (440 Views)

Re: Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

11-08-2013 11:08 PM in reply to: dmole

dmole wrote:
I would realy need more like step by step guide

  1.  open a blank drawing
  2.  run _ADEDRAWINGS
  3.  attach the contour drawing
  4.  run _ADEQUERY
  5.  click Alter Properties => Elevation => Expression => Expand Object Data => click on your Height field
  6.  click OK back in the Expression Area => click ADD => click OK
  7.  under Query Type, click Location => ALL
  8.  click OK
  9.  under Query Mode, select Draw
  10.  click the Execute Query button
  11.  perform a zoom extents
  12.  run the command ID, and click on contours to check their Z value
  13. if everything works, run again _ADEDRAWINGS, and detach the contour drawing
  14. save all with a new name

 

Member
dmole
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 8 of 8 (424 Views)

Re: Exportnig DEM surface (terrain) data as shape useful for 3d max

11-09-2013 03:06 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thank you very much! It works! At least I get contours in right position, now it will be easy to make a terrain in 3d max...

 

:smileyhappy:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!