AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 11 of 13 (322 Views)

Re: Exporting Hatch as a shape file?

02-25-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: jthornton

you need to clean up the data.  your big boundary is duplicated and all the small boundaries are not closed.  pedit, multiple, select and close, ecit.  Then make sure you have one of each unless you want duplicates.

 

Dave

Active Contributor
jthornton
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
Message 12 of 13 (317 Views)

Re: Exporting Hatch as a shape file?

02-25-2013 01:02 PM in reply to: jthornton

The cleaning up process worked as far as making a shape file for the Hatch boundray. I guess there is no way to bring in the solid fill of a hatch as a shape file?

 

Again Thanks for everybody's help!

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 13 of 13 (311 Views)

Re: Exporting Hatch as a shape file?

02-25-2013 03:11 PM in reply to: jthornton

jthornton wrote:

The cleaning up process worked as far as making a shape file for the Hatch boundray. I guess there is no way to bring in the solid fill of a hatch as a shape file?

 

Again Thanks for everybody's help!


You need to understand how GIS features work. There are only points/polygons/ and polylines(line) type object generally with out a lot of addons. In ArcGIS you would need to set a solid style to the polygon you exported from CAD to get the hatch looks.  

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.