AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 1 of 13 (460 Views)
Accepted Solution

Export to Shape

460 Views, 12 Replies
08-28-2012 10:47 PM

Hello, colleagues!

How can to export my SDF file to ESRI Shape file? In AutoCAD Map menu have a commands, but those works only for drawing objects. Have any way to export SDF to Shape?

Thanks all? who can help me!

Binnat Khalilov

Hi,

 

two options:

  • use _MAPIMPORT (>>>details<<<) to import the SDF-file (don't forget to import the attributive data to objectdata .... and then use command _MAPEXPORT (>>>details<<<) to create a SHP.
  • use _MAPCONNECT to get the SDF referenced into your drawing. Then create an empty SHP +the structure for it (using schema-creation functionality(>>>details<<<)). When this part is finished you can use bulk-copy (>>>details<<<) to transfer the content from SDF to SHP.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 13 (457 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

08-28-2012 11:10 PM in reply to: bingeomatics

Hi,

 

two options:

  • use _MAPIMPORT (>>>details<<<) to import the SDF-file (don't forget to import the attributive data to objectdata .... and then use command _MAPEXPORT (>>>details<<<) to create a SHP.
  • use _MAPCONNECT to get the SDF referenced into your drawing. Then create an empty SHP +the structure for it (using schema-creation functionality(>>>details<<<)). When this part is finished you can use bulk-copy (>>>details<<<) to transfer the content from SDF to SHP.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 3 of 13 (452 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

08-28-2012 11:26 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thank you very much!

Binnat Khalilov
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 4 of 13 (372 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

09-12-2012 04:19 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

Hi!

I tried to copy from SDF to SHP, but I can't. When I can't apply  Bulk copy command? What problem must be?

error

1.JPG

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,989
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 13 (356 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

09-12-2012 02:55 PM in reply to: bingeomatics

A SDF file can contain point, line and polygon features all in the same dwg. Most likey your SDF is set up as multiple type features. You might want to try FDO2FDO from SL-King its a little more forgiving.

http://www.sl-king.com/fdo2fdo/fdo2fdo.html

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 6 of 13 (350 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

09-12-2012 09:48 PM in reply to: Murph

Thanks, Murph! I will try...

Binnat Khalilov
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 7 of 13 (349 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

09-12-2012 10:00 PM in reply to: bingeomatics

Murph, thanks, it works goog, I have exported and finished sucsessfully. But it don't exports coordinate systems informations. How can I solve this problem. Did you used FDO2FDO?

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 13 (344 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

09-12-2012 10:54 PM in reply to: bingeomatics

Hi,

 

the coordinate system is stored in a separate PRJ-file (same name like SHP, DBF, SHX, but other extension).

If you don't have that file and you need it, create an empty shape winthin a drawing with assigned coord-sys, that will also create a PRJ-file then. Use this file and rename it to the name of your SHP-data.

 

To the above message: I have seen that also when converting an SDF or SQLite to a SHP even when the sources where set to a single geometrytype (POLYGON) and not multiple-geom-types.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 9 of 13 (338 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

09-12-2012 11:26 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thank you, Alfred.

Binnat Khalilov
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 10 of 13 (337 Views)

Re: Export to Shape

09-12-2012 11:27 PM in reply to: bingeomatics

But I want to know, is it that I did wrong anything in AutoCAd Map while exporting?

 

Binnat Khalilov
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.