AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Product Support
NateMoore
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 11 of 19 (332 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

10-01-2013 01:35 AM in reply to: Acemon

This could be the key bit to keep in mind from the help: "You can save bitonal images within a drawing to simplify file management."

 

If the image isn't bitonal, you can use IDEPTH to change it.



Nate Moore, GISP
Geospatial Premium Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Sarl
Active Member
Acemon
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Message 12 of 19 (318 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

10-01-2013 07:39 AM in reply to: Acemon

I appreciate the help and responses from all of you. Let me see if I can address some of the comments.

 

Etransmit won't work because it's an internal issue within the server configuration. As an example, if I create a hybrid drawing (using a command such as Attach), it creates a path within the drawing. That drawing is created on my local drive, which shows the path within my computer and my server allocation. When it is uploaded/transferred to the all-company user drive, the path is lost because I'm unable to load the image before everything gets uploaded. When other people try to open the document, the image is no longer attached. The company's work-around was to create a pdf and upload that to the server buut they want the functionality for others to open the actuall drawing. It's not the way I would do it, but it's what my boss and upper management want.

 

The image files themselve are monochrome, created when the original document (typically an old hard copy drawing) is scanned. I can take that image and open it in a viewer, such as Windows Photo Viewer, then do a right-click and copy the image to the clipboard. Another option is to open a pdf and export the image as a tif. Either way it's a black & white image.

 

I can take a tif and open it in Windows Paint, then copy and paste but the results are the same.

 

The message I see at the command line when I try to use IEMBED is "1 image(s) filtered out, 0 image{s} embedded". I'm unable to select anything.

 

Raster Design is an Autodesk product and should perform what we need. As I mentioned before, I was able to successfully embed one image but have not been able to replicate it. If I can do it once, I should be able to do it again.

 

I just tried IDEPTH on an existing tif and it virtually removed most of the image. Yuck.

 

Our I.T. department is going to re-install Raster Design this morning and see if it helps. If it doesn't, my boss and his boss will have to decide how to address our server issue. They were told Raster Design would do what they want and are annoyed that it doesn't. I'm just the guy at the computer and don't want to be blamed for issues I can't control.

 

Regardless, I'll keep trying and if/when I make it work, I'll post the results.

 

Thanks again to all.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,705
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 13 of 19 (312 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

10-01-2013 07:59 AM in reply to: Acemon

Acemon wrote:
if I create a hybrid drawing (using a command such as Attach), it creates a path within the drawing..

Click on TRANSMITTAL SETUPS in the Etransmit window, then MODIFY, finally PLACE ALL FILES IN ONE FOLDER...

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 14 of 19 (308 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

10-01-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: Acemon

Hi,

 

>> when I try to use IEMBED is "1 image(s) filtered out, 0 image{s} embedded"

Then the raster-file you inserted is not a one-bit bitonal file.

Show us one of the files that does not work, that show that message during _IEMBED.

 

>> I'm just the guy at the computer and don't want to be blamed for issues I can't control.

Nobody is blamed here in the thread. But you got tips for how other would work and the way you (your company!) decide to work is not a usual one (and has limitations like you currently see). So if you speak with your boss(es) thing about using _IMAGE or _MAPIINSERT to reference the raster-files and set the path ("relative" or "absolute") that fits better to your needs. I guess more than 80% have their rasterfiles in ohter folders than the drawings, but archiving a project directory is then only a definition of "move whole folder" and a defined structure of where dwg's are and where rasterfiles are ... so that the relative path is also valid after archiving/moving the project folder.

And to get it to the customer ==> _:ETRANSMIT is built exactly for that issue, to transfer also files that are referenced in my master-dwg.

Again, please don't see that as blaming, it's just the way how most people work (with success).

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
Acemon
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Message 15 of 19 (305 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

10-01-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I never saw or felt any blame here, just people being helpful and offering suggestions. It's merely my boss (a very nice guy) who will be irritated that I can't do what others told him was possible.

 

I'll show him the results and offer different options and let him make the choice. He's the knight - I'm merely the squire.

 

Again, I appreciate all of the help and the time expended by others to help resolve this vexing problem.

 

-Ace-

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,515
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 16 of 19 (301 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

10-01-2013 10:11 AM in reply to: Acemon

If he wants a better explanation of why it can't be done, have him try to play a BluRay disc in a DVD player.  While you might be able to hack something together to get the DVD player to read the data, ultimately its not designed to operate that way and its far easier to just use a DVD.

 

Sometimes you just need to accept the software has a specific work process and you need to work within those bounds.  Its one of the harder things to present to managers who aren't technically adept.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,277
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 17 of 19 (291 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

10-01-2013 01:46 PM in reply to: dgorsman

 

Hello

 

For dgorsman : I appreciate very much your Humour !

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Valued Contributor
jedenton
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎06-07-2012
Message 18 of 19 (266 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

11-18-2013 01:33 PM in reply to: braudpat

late post,,,,try making a new layer 'tif' and the color white, put your .tif file on this layer...when u do the iembed command it should not say there was any filtered out,,,,just one embedded...if it does delete the .tif and check ur xref manager and detach...start over inserting .tif file and put on tif layer,,iembed should work then.

Valued Contributor
jedenton
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎06-07-2012
Message 19 of 19 (264 Views)

Re: Embed Tif Without a Path or OLE

11-18-2013 01:37 PM in reply to: Acemon

late post,,,,try making a new layer 'tif' and the color white, put your .tif file on this layer...when u do the iembed command it should not say there was any filtered out,,,,just one embedded...if it does, delete the .tif and check ur xref manager and detach...start over inserting .tif file and put on tif layer,,iembed should work then.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.