AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 1 of 7 (467 Views)

edit shapefile in map?

467 Views, 6 Replies
07-25-2013 08:19 AM

quick question about editing:

I have a shape file representing sewer lines between manholes.  I need to assign an attribute to the line with "upstream invert" and "downstream invert" in my table.  Can I edit the shapefile in map?  I know I can edit in arcmap, but i am much more comfortable editing in acad.  Then I could use arcmap to view my shapefile.  Any help would be greatly appreciate.

mkh
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 7 (452 Views)

Re: edit shapefile in map?

07-25-2013 03:42 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

Hi,

 

>> I need to assign an attribute to the line with "upstream invert" and "downstream invert"

>> in my table.  Can I edit the shapefile in map?

Yes and no, you can not add a field to the table of a SHP if the SHP contains already data. If you need that you have to do some steps like import SHP, edit object data and add those 2 fields, export the data to a new SHP and then connect it with FDO; or convert it to SDF, or ...

If these 2 fields already exist in the SHP-structure, then YES, just drag and drop the SHP into your drawing and either select the entity and look to the property window (<CTRL> <1>), you see the fields there ready to edit it's values ... or you can show the attributive data as table (to show the table use command _MAPDATATABLE. again now: select a geometry object and Map3D selects the record to that object in the grid.

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Mentor
fieldguy
Posts: 382
Registered: ‎03-31-2005
Message 3 of 7 (434 Views)

Re: edit shapefile in map?

07-26-2013 01:35 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

MKH-VB - I sent you a private msg.  I am working on a similar project and would like to discuss this issue with you.  If you have not used the private msg fgeature, click the little envelope beside your username near the top of the page.

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 4 of 7 (418 Views)

Re: edit shapefile in map?

07-27-2013 03:53 AM in reply to: MKH-VB

Are the lines 3D or are the line available with xyz data for each end?

 

Dave

Mentor
MKH-VB
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 5 of 7 (411 Views)

Re: edit shapefile in map?

07-27-2013 11:10 AM in reply to: parkr4st
not a 3d line. Just populating a table with end of pipe elevations. (upstream and downstream inverts)



MKH
mkh
New Member
jatrucco
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Message 6 of 7 (324 Views)

Re: edit shapefile in map?

11-06-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: MKH-VB

I am working with autocadmap 2014 and I imported shapefile with FDO OSGEO data connection.

Can I delete or move an element (polyline) of this shapefile working from autocadmap?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (315 Views)

Re: edit shapefile in map?

11-06-2013 03:17 PM in reply to: jatrucco

Yes, you need to check out the feature erase it then check in all. You might want to read the help on autocheck in/out of festures to understand it.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.