AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Product Support
phil_borycens
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 1 of 7 (751 Views)

DWG's in ArcGIS

751 Views, 6 Replies
03-19-2013 10:43 AM

Hi everyone!

 

Curious about this as a customer asked me about it today.

 

Workflow:

1. In AutoCAD, WBLOCK objects from a working drawing to a new DWG.

2. In ArcGIS desktop (10.1, and possibly earlier versions), convert the DWG to SHP.

Result: If you do this with a DWG 2010, it works. If you do this with a DWG 2013, it breaks. I'm not sure if it throws an error message or what exactly it does...

 

Feel free to correct me or post your experience to the thread.

 

Thanks everyone!



Phil Borycens
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 7 (748 Views)

Re: DWG's in ArcGIS

03-19-2013 10:45 AM in reply to: phil_borycens

Hi,

 

>> If you do this with a DWG 2013, it breaks

...because ArcGIS can't read 2013-DWGs?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,785
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 7 (730 Views)

Re: DWG's in ArcGIS

03-19-2013 12:22 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

alfred.neswadba wrote:
...because ArcGIS can't read 2013-DWGs?

I concur definetely: in Acad 2013 you'd WBLOCK to an earlier release than itself.

If the source DWG contains Object Data, you can consider _MAPEXPORTing to shapefile, since I doubt Arcgis would be able to understand the embedded OD in a DWG.

Product Support
phil_borycens
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 4 of 7 (713 Views)

Re: DWG's in ArcGIS

03-19-2013 01:29 PM in reply to: phil_borycens

Thanks for the feedback, guys. I imagine that ESRI is working to figure out what's different between a 2010 and a 2013 DWG, and likely they are working on a fix on their end.

 

And yes, Antonio, you're right, there are other ways...

 

I just had to ask because I don't have ArcGIS here to play with.



Phil Borycens
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (703 Views)

Re: DWG's in ArcGIS

03-19-2013 02:53 PM in reply to: phil_borycens

borycep wrote:

.............. 

I just had to ask because I don't have ArcGIS here to play with.


Every good AE should have a copy of the competitors software available to them. :smileyhappy:

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Contributor
jim.dahl
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎11-21-2001
Message 6 of 7 (685 Views)

Re: DWG's in ArcGIS

03-20-2013 06:35 AM in reply to: phil_borycens

I have questions of my own relating to this thread.  I have a process where my ESRI software reads DWGs directly through an automated process.  Now it does not work with CAD 2013.  I have to save it back to previous release for ArcGIS to read it.  Are there any other workarounds I should be aware of.  I have not seen any patch from ESRI.

 

For reading object data, the ArcGIS for AutoCAD extension for ArcGIS works but I do not like having to create the DWG from ESRI.

 

thanks, Jim

New Member
trippcor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Message 7 of 7 (633 Views)

Re: DWG's in ArcGIS

05-16-2013 07:04 AM in reply to: phil_borycens

While I have not heard anything official, I believe Esri is waiting on the release of ArcGIS 10.2 to support 2013 DWGs. The 2013 DWG has been out long enough for them to have figured it out and release a patch for ArcGIS 10 or 10.1 based on past experience. The Data Interoperability Extension for ArcGIS may support the 2013 DWG but I have not tested that.

 

Tripp Corbin, GISP

eGIS Associates, Inc.

www.egisassociates.com

 

Tripp Corbin, GISP
CEO
eGIS Associates, Inc.
www.egisassociates.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.