AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 1 of 9 (389 Views)

dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

389 Views, 8 Replies
01-10-2012 10:47 AM

I have tried to load dbconnect on several 64 bit workstations usinf "dbc" and "dbconnect". In all cases AutoCAD Map 3d stops working. Generally,  the workstation just spins and you have to end the program with task manager, but I do have on Win 7 machine that crashes all the way out. There is never an AutoCAD error message or opportunity to report the issue to Autodesk.

I know dbconnect may be somewhat passé, but it is what we use. Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 9 (357 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

01-14-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: torentrue

Hi,

 

what version of Map3D do you have, what servicepack do you have, have you tried to first create any ODBC (64bit) connections using the settings in the control-panel?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 3 of 9 (295 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

06-11-2012 09:09 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

what version of Map3D do you have, what servicepack do you have, have you tried to first create any ODBC (64bit) connections using the settings in the control-panel?

 

- alfred -

This occurs on Map 3d 2011 or 2012. The ODBC has already been set up.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

06-12-2012 12:17 AM in reply to: torentrue

Hi,

 

may I ask what datasource it is? To what type of data have you created an odbc connection?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 5 of 9 (287 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

06-12-2012 07:07 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

This is to SQL Server and It only occurs on the 64 bit workstations. This is in multiple installations of our software (an extension of Map 3D).

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 9 (288 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

06-12-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: torentrue

Hi,

 

when you create the connection-config, in tab "Provider" did you use the SQL-Server Native Client or MS-OLEDB for SQL-Server? (...or any other one?)

Can you show the tab's where you defined the settings for the connection (well clean out any secrets, but let us see what check-boxes are set and what text-fields are filled.

 

For me there are both modes working, maybe the screenshots are a help for you:

 

 2012-06-12 16-18-02.png

2012-06-12 16-20-13.png

 

 

- alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 7 of 9 (285 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

06-12-2012 11:00 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I have set it up on different clients differently. If Native client is available, I use that. If not I use OLE DB Provider for SQL Server. Remember, these are existing connections from existing drawings. When they go to a 64 bit platform, this occurs.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 9 (285 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

06-12-2012 11:04 AM in reply to: torentrue

Hi,

 

>> When they go to a 64 bit platform

When they go to a pc that was not connected they have to create the UDL-file first, it that does not exist, it won't work.

But that may bring us closer to the source of problem, let me ask:

  • the UDL-file does not exist yet
  • you have created the file as admin and gave them the file or they use this file
  • you created the UDL with the account of the users

Have you tried to use a real admin-account, plus start AutoCAD with right-click + "start as administrator"?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 9 of 9 (246 Views)

Re: dbconnect command crashes 64 bit workstation

09-04-2012 03:33 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

This happens even if the udl exists. I have replicated this on users' workstations- logged in as the user and they have the data source defined.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.