AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
bmilks
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 1 of 9 (274 Views)
Accepted Solution

Database and Drawing edits at same time

274 Views, 8 Replies
03-12-2012 08:40 AM

Can you have a database and the dwg file open at the same time and not be in read-only mode?

For example: I have access database file open and editting it while in the dwg file with the graphical info that is linked to the database.

Thanks

Hi,

I'm running Map 2012, and have an AccessDatabase attached.  I'm able to edit the tables in either Map or Access and have the changes show up immediately in both places with no problems.

Lorrie

Active Contributor
foxeec
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 9 (239 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-13-2012 07:42 AM in reply to: bmilks

Hi,

I'm running Map 2012, and have an AccessDatabase attached.  I'm able to edit the tables in either Map or Access and have the changes show up immediately in both places with no problems.

Lorrie

Active Contributor
foxeec
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (234 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-13-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: bmilks

btw,

When i say my Access database is 'attached', I mean I've attached it via Link Template on the Map Explorer Tab, not  through FDO.

Lorrie

Member
bmilks
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 4 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-13-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: foxeec

Thank you for your help, just what i needed!

Member
bmilks
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 5 of 9 (193 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-19-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: foxeec

Do you have a problem of Map being a 64-bit installation, but office 2010 being 32-bit?  We seem to be having problems on that end now.

Active Contributor
foxeec
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 9 (188 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-19-2012 02:31 PM in reply to: bmilks

i don't seem to have that problem.  my Access is 2010, however, it is saved to version 2000.  Maybe that's why it works.  Also, just to reiterate, it is connected through the 'map explorer' tab, under data sources.  i do NOT attach through FDO on the 'display manager' tab.

 

Lorrie

Member
bmilks
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 7 of 9 (180 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-20-2012 05:27 AM in reply to: foxeec

We have it all worked out now, thanks again for the help.

Member
bmilks
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 8 of 9 (170 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-20-2012 08:32 AM in reply to: foxeec

Sorry to bother you again, but the tech that is doing this just informed he wa using am FDO...which is why I keep having obstacles.How exactly do I define a link template and use it with features, not just objects?

Is there somewhere that spells this out maybe step-by-step or similar?

I really do appreciate the help you have been giving thus far too.

Active Contributor
foxeec
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 9 (163 Views)

Re: Database and Drawing edits at same time

03-20-2012 11:16 AM in reply to: bmilks

how i attach:

1.  right-click on Data Source, on the map explorer pane and choose 'Configure'

2.  Name it.  This can be any name, as long as you know what its for.

3.  You'll get a dialog box to set up the connection.  i use the Microsoft Provider for ODBC Drivers, then hit 'next'.

4.  you should have a number 1, which asks you to specify the source of data.  i use data source name, and on the drop down menu, choose MS Accesss Database.

5.   hit ok.

6.   right-click again on the Data Source and choose 'attach'.  you should have a dialoog box come up and you choose the name you entered in the steps above.  then you can browse to your Access database.

 

At this point, right-click on Link Template and select 'Define Link Template'. You choose the table and create a primary key and name the link template.

 

In order to link your drawing data, use 'mapod2ase' select the OD Table, choose to link OD to database, and select the link template to use, select objects, then select 'proceed'.  This links drawing objects to the database.

 

This does NOT work in connection to FDO features (that i am aware of), only CAD objects.

More helpful?

 

Lorrie

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!