AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Links in AutoCad Map

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
cindy.jones
837 Views, 7 Replies

Data Links in AutoCad Map

How does the datalinks handle the links to the excel spreadsheet.  I am drawing parcels from legal descriptions and would like to link each parcel to a spreadsheet with all the parcels data via a ID number.  Then be able to click on that parcel and see the owner (the link). But my question is: do I have to give each link a new name to correspond with the parcel in order to see each parcel ownership? 

And how many datalinks can a drawing handle. 

I am a novice at this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
matTech
in reply to: cindy.jones

You should only need 1 data link per table. Create a parcel with object data containing the primary ID key. Link the linked table based on the foreign key in your excel table. It's not too hard. You can also do it via FDO connection. That's actually the better way to go IMO. I did something similar to what you are trying to do and eventually used FDO connection for parcels and objects for base layers. If I needed to make a map with parcel objects, I would just do a feature to object export. Very useful for making themed maps based on different attribution of your parcels.

Message 3 of 8
cindy.jones
in reply to: matTech

I am glad to hear someone else has done this. 

First question, I have one table with  8000 or so parcels.  What I would like to end up with is the ability to click on the parcel and be able to look at the data link to see who owns it so I am only looking at  no more than 4 columns. I am thinking I can use the one table with a different link for each parcel which would ultimately result in 8000 links. 😞   I think I am approaching this wrong.