AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
schroedera
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎01-28-2004
Message 1 of 8 (73 Views)

Create Points from MDB

73 Views, 7 Replies
06-16-2004 07:31 AM
Does anyone here have, or know of, a routine for creating points based on the records in a MS Access database? What I'm looking for will prompt you for a mdb, then the table, then let you select which column represents X, Y, Z, and the block name, and an attribute field.

Anyone have anyhting that sounds like that? I'm well aware that some programming could take care of this, but it's not an option right now.

Thanks,

Andrew
*Herbert Putz
Message 2 of 8 (73 Views)

Re: Create Points from MDB

06-16-2004 07:46 AM in reply to: schroedera
Andrew, Am Wed, 16 Jun 2004 14:31:53 GMT schrieb schroedera: > Does anyone here have, or know of, a routine for creating points based on the records in a MS Access database? What I'm looking for will prompt you for a mdb, then the table, then let you select which column represents X, Y, Z, and the block name, and an attribute field. > > Anyone have anyhting that sounds like that? I'm well aware that some programming could take care of this, but it's not an option right now. Yes - me! We have a program that - prompts for an ODBC-datasource (can be a mdb-file) - lets you choose the columns for easting, northing, elevation - lets you choose a column for pointnumbers - lets you choose a column for additional text - lets you choose a column for the blockname - lets you define the layers, on which points, pointnumbers, text and blocks are placed - lets you define an offset for pointnumbers an text - lets you define a scale-factor for blocks > > Thanks, > > Andrew Bye Herbert
*Murph
Message 3 of 8 (73 Views)

Re: Create Points from MDB

06-16-2004 09:19 AM in reply to: schroedera
Map 3D 2005 :smileyhappy: Murph "schroedera" wrote in message news:22080185.1087396343748.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > Does anyone here have, or know of, a routine for creating points based on the records in a MS Access database? What I'm looking for will prompt you for a mdb, then the table, then let you select which column represents X, Y, Z, and the block name, and an attribute field. > > Anyone have anyhting that sounds like that? I'm well aware that some programming could take care of this, but it's not an option right now. > > Thanks, > > Andrew
Distinguished Contributor
schroedera
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎01-28-2004
Message 4 of 8 (73 Views)

Re: Create Points from MDB

06-16-2004 01:35 PM in reply to: schroedera
re MAP3D, I could do it through the LDD2005 interface but would rather have a simple, straight-forward block-insertion from MBD routine. Rightnow, it's fastest to go through mapinfo and import the mif/mid, for me at least.
*Terry W. Dotson
Message 5 of 8 (73 Views)

Re: Create Points from MDB

06-16-2004 02:04 PM in reply to: schroedera
schroedera wrote: > ... would rather have a simple, straight-forward block-insertion from MBD routine. schroedera wrote: > ... would rather have a simple, straight-forward block-insertion > from MBD routine. Then take a look at the ToolPac Block Place routine. It generates block inserts with attributes directly from Excel spreadsheets or Access databases. Insert properties can come from fields or direct entry. Dialog: http://www.dotsoft.com/images/blkplace.gif Thanks, Terry -- The Ultimate Productivity Add-On for AutoCAD ToolPac 8.0 from http://www.dotsoft.com
*Murph
Message 6 of 8 (73 Views)

Re: Create Points from MDB

06-17-2004 05:40 AM in reply to: schroedera
I won't debate that it's easy to do with the Civil tools added to MAP in R2005. I still use my old lisp routine that we used in R12 AutoCAD before MAP. Seems like when AutoDesk introduces new tools/features into the verticals it take to the next version to be release before they get defined/fine tuned to what the users really need. Murph "schroedera" wrote in message news:20001043.1087418149613.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2... > re MAP3D, I could do it through the LDD2005 interface but would rather have a simple, straight-forward block-insertion from MBD routine. Rightnow, it's fastest to go through mapinfo and import the mif/mid, for me at least.
Member
lakeja
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-26-2003
Message 7 of 8 (73 Views)

Re: Create Points from MDB

07-06-2004 08:05 AM in reply to: schroedera
Hi,

I´ve some problems with this function in Map 3D.
I have an MDB File, with Point number, Easting, Northing and Point - Number. When I attach it, its quite fine, but if I want to process the insertion of the points, I get an Error, that the file is read - only. I can´t manage it, that the file isn´t read only.

Why does I fail???

Thanx for answers
Lakeja
*Marion Pietsch
Message 8 of 8 (73 Views)

Re: Create Points from MDB

07-06-2004 08:48 AM in reply to: schroedera
You can't connect to and import a table at the same time as Map is locking the MDB when it's attached and connected. Disconnecting the table for the time of import should solve. Marion Pietsch Autodesk Product Support Infrastructure Solutions "lakeja" wrote in message news:32919348.1089126369635.JavaMail.javamailuser@localhost... > Hi, > > I´ve some problems with this function in Map 3D. > I have an MDB File, with Point number, Easting, Northing and Point - Number. When I attach it, its quite fine, but if I want to process the insertion of the points, I get an Error, that the file is read - only. I can´t manage it, that the file isn´t read only. > > Why does I fail??? > > Thanx for answers > Lakeja
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.