AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
ronho
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 1 of 7 (119 Views)

Coordinate Systems

119 Views, 6 Replies
06-19-2007 09:42 AM
I am using AutoCAD Map 2007 and have two drawings I want to bring into each other. Both drawings are in the same Coordinate System (TN83F) and I have checked the corners of a building in each drawing to determine if the building is at the same location. When I xref one drawing into the other they don't come in over each other. It is like they are in different coordinate systems.

Why are they not lining-up? I checked lat/long of a building in each drawing and the lat/long checks out, yet when I xref one into the other they don't lin-up. What am I missing? Got to have something to do with the coordinate system but what?

Any help is appreciated,

ronh
email: ronh@mscaa.com
*Tripp Corbin, GISP
Message 2 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Coordinate Systems

06-19-2007 09:51 AM in reply to: ronho
When you xref make sure you use 0,0 as the insertion. You might also want to
try attaching one drawing to another and running a draw query.

--
Tripp Corbin, MCP, CFM, GISP
Associate Vice President, GIS/Mapping
ESRI Authorized Instructor
Keck & Wood, Inc.
www.keckwood.com
(678) 417-4013
(678) 417-8785 fax

Keck & Wood, Inc offers instructor led and virtual training for ESRI's
ArcGIS & ArcView software.
Please visit www.keckwood.com for more information including a schedule of
upcoming classes.


wrote in message news:5631035@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am using AutoCAD Map 2007 and have two drawings I want to bring into each
other. Both drawings are in the same Coordinate System (TN83F) and I have
checked the corners of a building in each drawing to determine if the
building is at the same location. When I xref one drawing into the other
they don't come in over each other. It is like they are in different
coordinate systems.

Why are they not lining-up? I checked lat/long of a building in each
drawing and the lat/long checks out, yet when I xref one into the other they
don't lin-up. What am I missing? Got to have something to do with the
coordinate system but what?

Any help is appreciated,

ronh
email: ronh@mscaa.com
Distinguished Contributor
jessebelcher-tvec
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 3 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Coordinate Systems

06-19-2007 12:12 PM in reply to: ronho
2006-2007 I had to set insunits to 0 on all drawings and then they would line up.
*Brian Hailey
Message 4 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Coordinate Systems

06-19-2007 12:17 PM in reply to: ronho
ronh,

Also check to make sure the system variables INSBASE and/or BASE are set to
0,0,0.

--
Brian
C3D 2008
http://www.ctcivil.com
http://cadcafe.blogspot.com


wrote in message news:5631035@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am using AutoCAD Map 2007 and have two drawings I want to bring into each
other. Both drawings are in the same Coordinate System (TN83F) and I have
checked the corners of a building in each drawing to determine if the
building is at the same location. When I xref one drawing into the other
they don't come in over each other. It is like they are in different
coordinate systems.

Why are they not lining-up? I checked lat/long of a building in each
drawing and the lat/long checks out, yet when I xref one into the other they
don't lin-up. What am I missing? Got to have something to do with the
coordinate system but what?

Any help is appreciated,

ronh
email: ronh@mscaa.com
Contributor
ronho
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 5 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Coordinate Systems

06-19-2007 12:21 PM in reply to: ronho
Tripp,

Thanks for the reply. I always use 0,0 as the insertion pint for my xrefs. Since I posted my request for help, I found the problem. The two drawings were not in the same units. I looked in the Drawing Units dialog box and the Insertion Scale was not the same, one drawing was set at "unitless" and the other was set at "feet". When I put both files in the same Insertion Scale they came in over each other.

Respectfully, ronh.
*Tommy
Message 6 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Coordinate Systems

06-20-2007 08:00 AM in reply to: ronho
Ensure coordinate system set to "World" in both drawings.

Tommy

wrote in message news:5631035@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am using AutoCAD Map 2007 and have two drawings I want to bring into each
other. Both drawings are in the same Coordinate System (TN83F) and I have
checked the corners of a building in each drawing to determine if the
building is at the same location. When I xref one drawing into the other
they don't come in over each other. It is like they are in different
coordinate systems.

Why are they not lining-up? I checked lat/long of a building in each
drawing and the lat/long checks out, yet when I xref one into the other they
don't lin-up. What am I missing? Got to have something to do with the
coordinate system but what?

Any help is appreciated,

ronh
email: ronh@mscaa.com
*Tripp Corbin, GISP
Message 7 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: Coordinate Systems

06-20-2007 09:52 AM in reply to: ronho
Often times it is something simple like that which causes us to spend hours
trying to find the problem. Glad you got it fix.

--
Tripp Corbin, MCP, CFM, GISP
Associate Vice President, GIS/Mapping
ESRI Authorized Instructor
Keck & Wood, Inc.
www.keckwood.com
(678) 417-4013
(678) 417-8785 fax

Keck & Wood, Inc offers instructor led and virtual training for ESRI's
ArcGIS & ArcView software.
Please visit www.keckwood.com for more information including a schedule of
upcoming classes.



wrote in message news:5631380@discussion.autodesk.com...
Tripp,

Thanks for the reply. I always use 0,0 as the insertion pint for my xrefs.
Since I posted my request for help, I found the problem. The two drawings
were not in the same units. I looked in the Drawing Units dialog box and
the Insertion Scale was not the same, one drawing was set at "unitless" and
the other was set at "feet". When I put both files in the same Insertion
Scale they came in over each other.

Respectfully, ronh.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.