AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
emac661
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 1 of 7 (295 Views)
Accepted Solution

Coordinate Help

295 Views, 6 Replies
01-30-2014 09:20 AM

New to the mapping side of Cad. I have Map 3D 2010. I have a drawing with township and range lines as well as section lines drawn. Included in that drawing is our water distribution system and easements. What i am trying to do is correctly place that system spatially.

 

For instance I looked up the NW corner of a specific section on our counties GIS site and it gave me these coordinates: 35.1231020, -119.3407611.

 

How do I plot that point in Map 3d? I was planning on plotting that point and then moving my T/R lines to match that point. 

 

 

If i am confusing or too vague please let me know. 


Thanks all.

 

 

-Mac

First you need to know what coordinate system the GIS folks are using. Then open a new dwg and assign that coordinate system to that dwg. Also you should have two or more know points. Use the point command and create points at the coordinates from the GIS system, then use the insert command to insert the T/R dwg into that dwg as a block and use the move/scale/align commands to move the inserted dwg(block) to line up. Afterwards you can explode the block back to individual objects and saveas. 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,051
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (272 Views)

Re: Coordinate Help

01-30-2014 03:17 PM in reply to: emac661

First you need to know what coordinate system the GIS folks are using. Then open a new dwg and assign that coordinate system to that dwg. Also you should have two or more know points. Use the point command and create points at the coordinates from the GIS system, then use the insert command to insert the T/R dwg into that dwg as a block and use the move/scale/align commands to move the inserted dwg(block) to line up. Afterwards you can explode the block back to individual objects and saveas. 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,738
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 7 (266 Views)

Re: Coordinate Help

01-31-2014 02:01 AM in reply to: emac661


emac661 wrote:

35.1231020, -119.3407611


Does that Lat/Long pair represent a point in Kern county (California)..?

If so, the CRS is definetely EPSG:4326 i.e. LL84, sir.

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 4 of 7 (255 Views)

Re: Coordinate Help

01-31-2014 06:38 AM in reply to: emac661

And try and see if you can't get those coordinates in some kind of xy system instead as opposed to geographics as your local works are probably all in some kind of grid system.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Member
emac661
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 5 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Coordinate Help

01-31-2014 02:32 PM in reply to: Murph
Thanks alot. I appreciate it.
Member
emac661
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 6 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Coordinate Help

01-31-2014 02:33 PM in reply to: antoniovinci
Yes indeed it does & thank you
Member
emac661
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 7 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Coordinate Help

01-31-2014 02:34 PM in reply to: ericcollins6932
Will do. Thanks
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post