AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-15-2013
Post 1 of 12

Contour Lines

1856 Views, 11 Replies
03-21-2013 01:19 AM

Hello there! 

 

I need a little help from you. I want to make contour lines in autocad 2010 map 3d, but dont know how to start and where :smileyvery-happy:.

 

I have xyz coordinates in. txt format , something like this:

 

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/259/58611400.jpg/

 

I tryed to do with spline, but its pretty hard some times :/. I need something that i can import and let autocad draw the contours, if its possbile (import txt or another format if its possible) !?? 

 

Thanks for any help, and sorry if i dont have such a good english spelling :smileytongue:

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
216 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Post 2 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 01:41 AM in reply to: Neman_

Hello. If you have AutoCAD Civil, it is very universal software to do this operation in it. If you have only AutoCAD Map, you can only import this point list as Esri Shape file (point geometry) and creat DEM file from GIS file and only after it you can take contours from that DEm file.

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
1,793 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 3 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 02:32 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

bingeomatics wrote:

you can only import this point list as Esri Shape file (point geometry)


You don't need that conversion: simply use the _MAPIMPORT command to load the .CSV text file, sir.

Distinguished Contributor
216 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Post 4 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

antoniovinci, I know it, too. But he want to creat relief contours.... How he can creat contours by those points or blocks?

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
1,793 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 5 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 05:34 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

Binnat, you wrote: "you can only import this point list as Esri Shape file"...

So I replied that it's not necessary, while the contour generation is another thing.

I agree with you he may create a DEM from those points, but here's an alternative:

  1. http://www.cadstudio.cz/en/apps/dtm/

Once you have the DTM as 3Dfaces' bunch, you can generate the contours with this jewel.

Distinguished Contributor
216 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Post 6 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hmm? I understant you, antoniovinci.

I said it for only contours.

But, I didn't knew about "CADstudio DTM". It is very good modul for AutoCAD users- who have not AutoCAD Civil.

Thanks.

Binnat Khalilov
Active Contributor
30 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Post 7 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: Neman_

Neman_

You can create a surface easily in Map 3D 2013.

Simply go to the CREATE tab on the ribbon and select "Create from Points" on the 3D Surface Panel.

This will create a RASTER surface.

 

If you wish to add contours to your surface, then simply select the raster surface and the Contextual Ribbon for the Raster Layer will appear. There you will see the "Create Layer" function on the CREATE panel.

 

Hope this helps!

 

 

Richard W. Reid, Jr. PLS

AutoCAD - Civil 3D - Map 3D - ESRI - Google
AutoCAD Civil 3D Implementation Expert
*Expert Elite*
1,793 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 8 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 11:56 AM in reply to: rreid

rreid wrote:
You can create a surface easily in Map 3D 2013

 


It doesn't matter, 'cause the OP owns Map2010, unless he can prove that it works for him...

Active Contributor
30 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Post 9 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: antoniovinci
This function was available back to MAP 3D 2011, I don't have 2010 to test. Thank you, Richard W. Reid, Jr. PLS Senior Consultant - CIVIL AutoCAD Civil 3D Implementation Expert Autodesk Certified Professional MICRODESK, INC. 800-336-3375 (Main) 781-419-8115 (Direct) www.microdesk.comFacebook | Twitter | Blog| Microdesk CaresThe trusted advisor for the AECO industry AUTODESK 2012 NORTH AMERICAN PARTNER OF THE YEAR
Richard W. Reid, Jr. PLS

AutoCAD - Civil 3D - Map 3D - ESRI - Google
AutoCAD Civil 3D Implementation Expert
*Expert Elite*
2,139 Posts
205 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 10 of 12

Re: Contour Lines

03-22-2013 05:19 PM in reply to: rreid

rreid wrote:
This function was available back to MAP 3D 2011, I don't have 2010 to test.

It's there in 2010 as well.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!