AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
Henrik_RRR
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 1 of 8 (2,016 Views)
Accepted Solution

Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

2016 Views, 7 Replies
09-12-2011 12:41 AM

Hi,

Ive recently upgraded from AutoCAD map 2011 to 2012. But my connection to ArcSDE doesnt seems to work anymore.

 

My connection is the same as with 2011 using the pe.dll, sde.dll, sg.dll files.

 

Getting this message:

Unable to establish connection to provider.

FDO Provider entry point function 'CreateConnection' returned NULL.

 

Any suggestion for an approach?

 

Regards Henrik

Product Support
NateMoore
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 2 of 8 (1,996 Views)

Re: Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

09-12-2011 12:51 PM in reply to: Henrik_RRR

Are 2011 and 2012 on the same machine?  What's the version of SDE? and what about the versions of the dlls (look at the properties of the file)?



Nate Moore, GISP
Geospatial Premium Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Sarl
Active Member
Henrik_RRR
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 3 of 8 (1,968 Views)

Re: Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

09-15-2011 04:12 AM in reply to: NateMoore

Hi,

Its a 9.3 version og ArcSDE. Ive tried to use proper 9.3 dlls but not succed.

I think its because I used to have a 32bit OS but now its a 64. 

 

Not a lot of treads to read about this. Anybody familiar with this?

 

Regards Henrik

New Member
jrylee
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 4 of 8 (1,960 Views)

Re: Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

09-15-2011 10:11 AM in reply to: Henrik_RRR

Same problem for me.  I got what I believe to be the 64 bit dll files and put them in the folder.  I also added esri_sde 5151/tcp to the services file.  Still get the same error.  All I can figure is the dll files are not 64 bit.

 

Jeremy Rylee, GISP

Active Member
Henrik_RRR
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 5 of 8 (1,959 Views)

Re: Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

09-15-2011 10:44 AM in reply to: jrylee

I found dll:s from the latest version of arcsde 64bit on of our servers. It finally worked  connecting to a 32bit Arcsde.

Good luck

 

Henrik

New Member
rubrew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 6 of 8 (1,789 Views)

Re: Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

11-03-2011 08:08 AM in reply to: Henrik_RRR

I see that you have found the correct dlls to solve this issue. We have not had as much luck. What is the specific version of pe, sg, and sde dlls that you are using? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Contributor
JJuniewich
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 7 of 8 (1,777 Views)

Re: Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

11-03-2011 01:17 PM in reply to: Henrik_RRR

Here's how to get the sde 64 bit DLL's you need on our blog link below. Hope this helps

Jeff

 

http://totalcad.wordpress.com/

New Member
rubrew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 8 of 8 (1,769 Views)

Re: Connection AutoCAD 2012 to ArcSDE does not work

11-03-2011 02:20 PM in reply to: JJuniewich

Thanks for the response. We obtained the 64 bit dlls by another means. It's not very straight forward is it. Autocad might think about packaging them under Support.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.