AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
JJuniewich
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 21 of 23 (108 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-14-2008 02:10 PM in reply to: dvmorris
Take a look at the attached jpg. The schemas was created within Map 09 and Bulk Copy was used to populate it. Note the geometry column it the table view.
Valued Contributor
chrisgountanis
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-18-2006
Message 22 of 23 (108 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-14-2008 02:26 PM in reply to: dvmorris
Thanks for the screen shot and not for the actual step by step help. Why would you create a database for every layer? You normally want to create one database (data store) per data set. Every layer then will have it's own table within the singe database. Much more managable. Is that another work around? Bulk copy usually creates the schemas for you but you mentioned creating the schema. Is that also another work around?


As far as the issue we are having I heard from someone internal that the FDO for SQL Server will be released for us in the fall. There are updated DLL files for internal testing only. So if your getting stressed with work arounds just wait till then.
Contributor
JJuniewich
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 23 of 23 (108 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-14-2008 02:41 PM in reply to: dvmorris
The schema name is Texas (data store), within the texas schema, Bulk Copy creates feature classes (spatial tables). All this is done within Map after you make a successful connection.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.