AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
dvmorris
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-20-2005
Message 11 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 12:53 PM in reply to: dvmorris
I am ready to give up with this product. It's making me feel like a complete idiot that I can't connect to the server. It's on the same machine, the service name is MSSQLSERVER, the password for the sa account is correct, I don't know what else to try. Does it really need to be this difficult?
Contributor
JJuniewich
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 12 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 01:00 PM in reply to: dvmorris
You will have to uninstall and re-install SQL Server 2008. You want to install using the SQL Server and Windows Authentication (Mixed) Mode. Remember the new instance name and your password. Attached is a MS doc explaining the authentication. Make sure you have the Spatial dll's from OSGeo for SQL Server Spatial 2008.
Valued Contributor
chrisgountanis
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-18-2006
Message 13 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 01:02 PM in reply to: dvmorris
Try your computer name the the service name if you installed sql server 2008 as the default instance. Otherwise it will be computername\instancename
Valued Contributor
chrisgountanis
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-18-2006
Message 14 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 01:05 PM in reply to: dvmorris
You can change the Mode using SQL Server Studio Manager if you can find Studio 2008 on your install disk.

Attached is mine working but I cant get bulk copy wo work still. (another post)
Contributor
JJuniewich
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 15 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 01:08 PM in reply to: dvmorris
Take a look at the attached jpg. It shows Map 09 with the new SQL Server 2008 Spatial data type (geometry). All vector data in the jpg is stored in SQL Server 2008.
Valued Contributor
chrisgountanis
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-18-2006
Message 16 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 01:19 PM in reply to: dvmorris
Where do you get the new DLL files for SQL Server 2008? Also, how did you push the data to SQL Server? Message was edited by: cgountanis
Active Member
dvmorris
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-20-2005
Message 17 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 01:21 PM in reply to: dvmorris
It looks like the issue was the service name. If anyone out there works in the UI or User Experience department, I would seriously consider documenting this and changing the field names in the UI. This concept of "Service Name" is really confusing, especially when it's on the local machine, you are supposed to use the computer name instead. Is this documented anywhere? I hope this post gets indexed by google, because it really shouldn't take a week to figure this out.

Also, the concept of a Data Store vs. a database? What is the difference? I have databases with spatial data in them, and Map 3d can't see them, it will only allow me to create new "data stores".
Contributor
JJuniewich
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 18 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 01:39 PM in reply to: dvmorris
Make sure your using the right dll's the SqlServerProvider.dll
will not work on spatial data types. You need the SqlServerSpatialProvider.dll. Copy the dll's into the bin folder and the rename the SqlServerProvider.dll in the providers.xml file to SqlServerSpatialProvider.dll. It will use the same UI in the data connect but use the new spatial provider.


l
Valued Contributor
chrisgountanis
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-18-2006
Message 19 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 06:24 PM in reply to: dvmorris
How do you import data into SQL Server from existing data? Bulk copy does not work? Did you have a complete spatial database to test with? I really need to research batch copy for clients.

Thanks!
Active Member
dvmorris
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-20-2005
Message 20 of 23 (219 Views)

Re: Connecting to SQL Server 2008 in Map3d 2009

07-11-2008 09:51 PM in reply to: dvmorris
I would also like to get a sample database to learn how to get bulk copy to work. I would really like to use the technology at a client, and I'm running into too many road blocks so far.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.