AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
erictsn
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 1 of 10 (924 Views)

Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

924 Views, 9 Replies
05-11-2011 12:11 AM

Hi All,

 

Is there anyone have tried to connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by using Map 3D 2012? I can't to make it. It prompts the message "Invalid connection". I used the IP as the service name of map 3d.

 

 

Thanks.

Eric

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,088
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (904 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

05-12-2011 09:25 AM in reply to: erictsn

I connect OK to SQL express 2008 OK, using the server name as the Service Name.

Note: The SQL Server is running on the same workstation as Map3D/Civil3d 2012 version.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
erictsn
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 3 of 10 (896 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

05-12-2011 06:06 PM in reply to: erictsn

Thanks Murph

Have you try to remote connect the sql server express 2008 by AutoCADMap3D?

 

 

Thanks.

Eric

Valued Mentor
jackie.ng
Posts: 284
Registered: ‎10-06-2008
Message 4 of 10 (894 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

05-12-2011 07:01 PM in reply to: erictsn

You should check if SQL Server has been configured to allow remote connections.

 

I believe by default this is not the case.

 

- Jackie

New Member
lbryant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 5 of 10 (573 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

02-23-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: erictsn

Do you know of a FDO provider for or through SQL Server Express?

 

The SQL Server Express connection works for me ArcGIS 10, but is not available to me within Civil 3d (FDO).

 

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

 

I am running Civil 3d 2012, 64bit, Win7, 8GB.

 

Thanks.

Distinguished Contributor
matTech
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 6 of 10 (529 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

03-06-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: lbryant

SQL Express should work with Civil 3D 2012. I just tried it for my first time the other day and it was pretty easy. Just use SQL Server connection. FDO actually works better than any of the options I've used with ArcMap. Pretty impressive actually.

 

The company I work for has SQL Server 2008. I want to connect to it but they won't let me. I set up a SQL Express at home and it's working fine. However, I want to connect to my server at home from work. Has anyone here remotely connected to SQL Express? It's super easy with Postgres but that's not what my company is using. I'm trying to prove a point with IT because they don't think I can connect to spatial data on SQL Server.

Mentor
tjmapper
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 7 of 10 (518 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

03-07-2012 08:47 AM in reply to: matTech

My whole GIS is stored in SQL 2008..... Would be pretty lame with no spatial data. :smileysad:

Distinguished Contributor
matTech
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 8 of 10 (510 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

03-07-2012 03:20 PM in reply to: erictsn

Do you use ODBC FDO connections to connect to non-spatial tables? I haven't messed with that too much but I did notice that they are grayed out when connecting to the spatial ones. I would like to perform a join of a spatial table and normal table that are stored within SQL Server. I'll probably try it out tonight ODBC.

Mentor
tjmapper
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 9 of 10 (500 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

03-08-2012 05:04 AM in reply to: matTech

Unfortunately, doing a join in AutoCAD is a slow go so I try to keep everything on the SQL Server. The biggest pain is  the way the tables get setup when creating them on a SQL Spatial Server you cannot look at  SQL Views spatially.

 

Why would you not just the SQL Server connection instead of ODBC? It is what I use because ODBC on 64bit seems to be more trouble than it's worth.

Distinguished Contributor
matTech
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 10 of 10 (489 Views)

Re: Connect to SQL Server 2008 r2 by AutoCAD Map 3D 2012

03-08-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: erictsn

The SQL connection doesn't have Window Authentication. I had to set up SQL for Database Authentication. It worked fine after that.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.