AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
tdunn_3
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 1 of 11 (275 Views)

concat a joined database property?

275 Views, 10 Replies
05-31-2012 07:15 AM

I have a property  "chaney_dell|Comments" from a joined database and I would like to use an expression like:

 

concat( "chaney_dell|Comments" ,'\P\', Tract_ID ,'\P', owner ,'\P',   acres, ' ACRES' ,'\P', 'S-', sec ,' T-', twn ,' R-', rng  ,'\P',  book ,'/', page )

 

All I get is "text" as a label for my shape and when I go back to edit the expression it adds quotation marks to the beginning and end.

 

"concat( "chaney_dell|Comments" ,'\P\', Tract_ID ,'\P', owner ,'\P',   acres, ' ACRES' ,'\P', 'S-', sec ,' T-', twn ,' R-', rng  ,'\P',  book ,'/', page )"

 

 

If I take the quotation marks off of chaney_dell|Comments it will not validate because of the | character. What am I missing here?

 


Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 2 of 11 (273 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

05-31-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: tdunn_3

in one of your newline calls I see \P\ - with a second slash - does this affect anything?


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Member
tdunn_3
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 3 of 11 (271 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

05-31-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: thepworth

I took it out but it still gets hung up on the | character. If I ever get this figured out the second \ would have definietly given me problems, thanks!

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 4 of 11 (265 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

05-31-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: tdunn_3

OK  had a few moments to "Play" and I'm getting the same result.  I'd say if you're on subscription open a support request and give it a higher priority, or take your chances to see if Nate & his fellow gurus respond here... :smileysad:


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 473
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 5 of 11 (259 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

05-31-2012 01:48 PM in reply to: thepworth

| is an "illegal character"?

 

do a calc and title the column without the |

 

for the calc select the property with the bar & OK.  The data should be identical in both columns.  Use the new column in the concat

 

Dave

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 6 of 11 (257 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

05-31-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: parkr4st

Problem I found was that, at least in my C3D R2012 install, when I tried to style with an expression based on an expression and used "concat" then selected the field from the pull-down, a new line, and a piece of static text, I still just got "text" as the resulting label - not what I expected at all....


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 473
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 7 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

06-01-2012 02:33 AM in reply to: thepworth

which is caused by  the | in the joined column heading.  I've had the same problem and solved it two ways, one as I explained and the other is mapimport and mapexport which changes the column from a join to part of the OD.  One of the shortcomings of Map3d i guess. 

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 8 of 11 (245 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

06-01-2012 04:50 AM in reply to: tdunn_3

Concur - it's funny that it would happen with an element put there by the software and not the user.  seems par for the course with what we're given - "why use one step when 3 to 5+ just might get you there..." :smileysurprised:


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Member
tdunn_3
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 9 of 11 (238 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

06-01-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: parkr4st

When I try to do the calc that property does not show up? I have a data connection with a shp file and an ODBC excel file. When I view the table and go to create a calculation it only shows the shp file properties not the ODBC properties.

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 473
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 10 of 11 (223 Views)

Re: concat a joined database property?

06-01-2012 04:43 PM in reply to: tdunn_3

do you try  display manager   select the layer r clk and select refresh layer? 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.