AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jens.kuegl
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-25-2011
Message 1 of 5 (590 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change settings of a constraint in SQLite

590 Views, 4 Replies
01-11-2012 02:52 AM

I am not able to change a constraint in SQLite:

1. I created a schema  in SQLite witth AutoCAD Map 3D 2012.
2. I set a constraint to one field: a list with 3 entries valid for the property. For example:
       Test 1
       Test 2
       Test 3
3.    I draw some lines

In the schema editor I want to change the constraint:
-    But I am not able to add a new entry “Test 4” to the list from step 2
-    I am also not able to change an existing entries (“test 1” to “test 1 new”)

Is it possible to change the settings of a constraint?

The help (http://docs.autodesk.com/MAP/2012/ENU/filesMUG/GUID-47B2AD48-11F7-45DA-9B11-979265C7FDA8.htm) says: “You cannot edit a schema to convert an existing field to use a different constraint type if the table already contains data. The table must be empty.”
But I do not want to change the “constraint type”. I want to change the entries of the list.

Thanks

Jens

Thanks to Alfred and Nate. I will use their workarounds proposed (import/export/bulkcopy).

Jens

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,250
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (565 Views)

Re: Change settings of a constraint in SQLite

01-14-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: jens.kuegl

Hi,

 

at least the help is right, and also: I do understand your situations (it get's sometimes frustrating having data finalized and then have to add or modify some fields).

What would I do:

  • First I would try to close Map3D or at least disconnect from the DB, modify some fields within the SQLite-database itself, then connect again to the DB.
  • If that does not help, by what reason ever, you can create a new scheme and then do a masscopy from your previous scheme to the new one.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
jens.kuegl
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-25-2011
Message 3 of 5 (553 Views)

Re: Change settings of a constraint in SQLite

01-16-2012 01:08 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred,

thank you for your answer.

Autodesk has now replied to me directly. Autodesk has also proposed to do an export/import.

Your idea to modify the SQLite-database is good. But unfortunately this does not work:
I've looked at how a “constraint in AutoCAD FDO schema” is implemented in SQLite. SQLite uses a SQL-constraint when a table is created:
CREATE TABLE "testtable” … "testfield" TEXT CONSTRAINT CHK_Typ CHECK("testfield " IN(‘Test 1, Test 1, Test 1)) …

Normaly I would drop the existing constraint, and add the new constraint:
ALTER TABLE ... DROP CONSTRAINT CHK_Typ
ALTER TABLE ... ADD CONSTRAINT CHK_Typ ...

The problem is that SQLite does not support a CONSTRAINT option in the ALTER command (http://www.sqlite.org/omitted.html).

In my opinion this is very great limitation of a geodatabase based on SQLite.

Thanks for your help.

Regards

Jens

Product Support
NateMoore
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 4 of 5 (546 Views)

Re: Change settings of a constraint in SQLite

01-17-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: jens.kuegl

I agree with Alfred - the new schema (possibly from an export/import of just the schema), then a bulkcopy is likely the easiest route, considering the SQLite limitations.



Nate Moore, GISP
Geospatial Premium Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Sarl
Contributor
jens.kuegl
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-25-2011
Message 5 of 5 (529 Views)

Re: Change settings of a constraint in SQLite

01-18-2012 01:10 AM in reply to: NateMoore

Thanks to Alfred and Nate. I will use their workarounds proposed (import/export/bulkcopy).

Jens

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.