AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Victor-USFWS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-23-2014
Message 1 of 8 (520 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

520 Views, 7 Replies
05-23-2014 12:39 PM

Autocad Map 3D 2014 shape file creation SUCKS when compared to Autocad Map 2007. I never should have bought in to the hype that I needed to upgrade Autocad. Autocad 2014 appears to no longer have an option to easily create shape files. Is the old functionality of Autocad Map 2007 still buried in Autocad 2014 somewhere?

I move a lot of shape files to and from Autocad and Arcmap. Closed poly line to shape file and shapefile to closed polyline. Linework only, no attribute data beyond the information necessary to convert between coordinate systems. I've been able to successfully import a shapefile into Autocad 2014, but no dice going in the other direction.  I am very disapointed. To say the learning curve is steep is an understatement.

Can anyone help me? Thank you.





Using MAPEXPORT should still allow you to export to shapefiles in 2014 the way you are used to.  Do you have service packs installed?  I seem to remember that when 2014 came out, there was an issue with the exporting function that may have been resolved in the service pack.

Lorrie

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (517 Views)

Re: Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

05-23-2014 01:21 PM in reply to: Victor-USFWS

Hi,

 

welcome  @forums.autodesk.com!

 

>> Autocad 2014 appears to no longer have an option to easily create shape files

First: all that is working with 2014 too, you can use coordinate system, you can import and export polygonal themes too, and you can have attributive data. It's just a little bit training/learning the "how to".

 

For polygons: There is a (quite) new object called MPOLYGON. So when using _MAPIMPORT by default this type of objects is created with the advantage that it knows it's outest border and it's islands. If you import the SHP-content as simple polylines you loose the info about what polyline is an island and what polyline is an outline.

 

>> I've been able to successfully import a shapefile into Autocad 2014, but no dice going in the other direction

Can you describe what is happening, just "does not work" is not enough. If you want to export line-themes select "Line" in the first tab of the MAPEXPORT-dialog and click OK, how many objects are then exported (is reported in the command-line), if 0 then the question is what objects (geometry types) do you have in your drawing (and can we have the drawing? Makes it easier to verify your results)

If you like to export (AutoCAD) polylines for a polygonal SHP, then check "Polygon" in the first tab of the MAPEXPORT dialog, on the third tab ("Options") check "Treat closed polylines as polygons". Also here, if "0 objects exported" is the message you get please let us know what objects you have in your dwg.

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,086
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 8 (511 Views)

Re: Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

05-23-2014 03:49 PM in reply to: Victor-USFWS

Try the old MAPEXPORT4 command, that was the old export engine, I tested in 2015 and it is discontinued in 2015 it might still be in 2014 version.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 8 (500 Views)

Re: Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

05-23-2014 05:53 PM in reply to: Murph

Hi,

 

>> Try the old MAPEXPORT4 command, that was the old export engine, I tested in 2015

>> and it is discontinued in 2015 it might still be in 2014 version.

Aahhh, great idea ... and YES, _MAPEXPORT4 exists, in 2014 and 2013, but reduced for DGN, MIF and ArcInfo Coverage (tried with Civil 3D, so might differ in Map 3D).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
foxeec
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 8 (460 Views)

Re: Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

05-27-2014 07:58 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Using MAPEXPORT should still allow you to export to shapefiles in 2014 the way you are used to.  Do you have service packs installed?  I seem to remember that when 2014 came out, there was an issue with the exporting function that may have been resolved in the service pack.

Lorrie

Member
Victor-USFWS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-23-2014
Message 6 of 8 (458 Views)

Re: Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

05-27-2014 07:59 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Although MAPEXPORT4 did create a coverage for me, ArcMap10.1 no longer supports them. Back to the drawing board...
Member
Victor-USFWS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-23-2014
Message 7 of 8 (452 Views)

Re: Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

05-27-2014 08:28 AM in reply to: foxeec
Totally bizarre. MAPEXPORT is working today, in Civil 3D. SHP file creation was not an option on Friday. All I could create were Microstation files, Autodesk SDF files and other junk ArcMap 10.1 could not use. Quite frustrating when I knew the capability had been there before.

Maybe the network guys installed a Service Pack over the weekend that was not installed at the time of my original posting. More likely it's because I was following the advice of the wrong part of the Autocad 2014 voluminous help files.

I wish to thank all of you for your help. Something worked and I am back on track and can now tackle the other changes 2014 has over the 2007 version.
Member
Victor-USFWS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-23-2014
Message 8 of 8 (451 Views)

Re: Can Autocad 2014 directly export shapefiles the way Autocad Map 2007 could??

05-27-2014 08:31 AM in reply to: Victor-USFWS
Ha.. "following the advice of the wrong part"... comment was supposed to be part of the 1st paragraph explaining the problems I'd been facing, not the 2nd paragraph. Makes no sense there.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.