AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 754
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 1 of 7 (371 Views)

C3D 2014 (Map 2014) Crashing

371 Views, 6 Replies
04-25-2013 08:07 AM

Map (C3D) will just crash without me doing anything if I leave it alone for about 3 minutes. It has nothing to do with screen savers as I'm using other software (in this case, Chrome to type this). While typing this message, I had a dialog box for choosing a SDF file from the Create>SDF button under the Planning and Analysis workspace open. All of a sudden Map (C3D) has turned white. There is a crash box, but it's not the Autodesk one. 

crash_no_reason.png

 

I'm utterly confused by this since I wasn't even working in the software for it to crash. I can get this to repeat by just leaving Map (C3D) open and browsing the internet. After a minute or two Map (C3D) just crashes. 

 

Anyone else get this?

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 754
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 2 of 7 (348 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 (Map 2014) Crashing

04-26-2013 08:07 AM in reply to: engrtech

I started a SR about this. I've found that it has something to do with how C3D (Map) connects and uses SDF files. It will always crash no matter what SDF file is connected to, even a brand new one. It'll even crash while the dialog box for creating and editing the schema for a brand new SDF is open. 

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 754
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 3 of 7 (340 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 (Map 2014) Crashing

04-26-2013 10:06 AM in reply to: engrtech

Turns out this has something to do with the providers.xml in the FDO folder having a wrong value for two <name> tags and is a known bug that the Map team is working on. How does something like this get through on release? We're not talking about some obscure method to cause a crash. This is basic functionality of Map and it fails. Not only that, so far the solution only lets you load a SDF. Creating a SDF is still impossible even with the solution Autodesk has given. 

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Contributor
BruceAdams
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 4 of 7 (106 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 (Map 2014) Crashing

07-15-2014 12:02 PM in reply to: engrtech

LOL... Looks like ADSK has their top team on it.....AKA..."nobody" :smileylol:  

 

I've never crashed so much so often while working on so little.  I've probably sent in over 50 CER reports over the last few mo's with nothing in return from ADSK.  I'm sure they'll tell me to move up to C3D 2015 soon.  Which probably has even more bugs including all the defects they haven't fix for the last 8 releases.  

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,017
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (99 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 (Map 2014) Crashing

07-15-2014 03:57 PM in reply to: BruceAdams

 

When you submit the CER  Make sure you have a valid Email address. After 2-3 of them you should get the general form letter email reply stating "Thank you for reporting the bababa.... We will contact you when a fix is availalbe. Have you installed the SP for 2014? I think one of them fixed the FDO provider list file(s). 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
BruceAdams
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 6 of 7 (92 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 (Map 2014) Crashing

07-16-2014 03:55 AM in reply to: Murph
Yes, my software is up to date, and I know how the CER reports work. Too bad ADSK doesn't do what is really needed with them. Like fix the hunderds of legacy defcts that cause many of these crashes.
Valued Mentor
gluckett
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎10-10-2003
Message 7 of 7 (48 Views)

Re: C3D 2014 (Map 2014) Crashing

08-01-2014 11:26 AM in reply to: BruceAdams
I would be willing to bet the issue is with the Video Card. Turn off "Hardware Acceleration" and see if AutoCAD keeps crashing.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.