AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-14-2012
Post 1 of 6
Accepted Solution

buffering a 3d line

339 Views, 5 Replies
09-04-2012 11:52 AM

Hello,

 

I searched the archives and couldn't find a previous post similar to mine, so here it goes:

 

I have several hypothetical well bore lines. They are deviated wells which means the lines go straight down from the surface for a bit and then continue down at an angle. I need to buffer these lines in 3D space.

 

I've used the buffering topologies tool, but all it get is a buffer around the what would be the "plan" view of the well bore. Is there anyway to get the program to buffer around the actual 3D line and compute a volume?

 

I'm using AutoCAD Civil #D 2013.

 

Thanks

You could use SWEEP to make 3d object along a path. you would just have to draw the capsule shapes on the end if you needed it to extend out.

 

So you would draw a Circle the size of your buffer then select the path for it to follow.

 

Sorry if that's not what you need.

you can sweep the bore down the center line and make the 3d cylinder

 

however if you need the volume and not the graphical picure could you get by with volume = pi*r^2*length as object data?

 

Dave

Ah, thank you tjmapper and parkr4st! A new command. I've never used SWEEP before. I tried it just right now and it didn't work, but I think it is because of user error. I just have to figure it out and I should be good to go. I'll report back son.

 

Thanks!

Mentor
229 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Post 2 of 6

Re: buffering a 3d line

09-04-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: emandeno

You could use SWEEP to make 3d object along a path. you would just have to draw the capsule shapes on the end if you needed it to extend out.

 

So you would draw a Circle the size of your buffer then select the path for it to follow.

 

Sorry if that's not what you need.

Valued Mentor
491 Posts
35 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Post 3 of 6

Re: buffering a 3d line

09-04-2012 12:40 PM in reply to: emandeno

you can sweep the bore down the center line and make the 3d cylinder

 

however if you need the volume and not the graphical picure could you get by with volume = pi*r^2*length as object data?

 

Dave

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-14-2012
Post 4 of 6

Re: buffering a 3d line

09-04-2012 12:48 PM in reply to: parkr4st

Ah, thank you tjmapper and parkr4st! A new command. I've never used SWEEP before. I tried it just right now and it didn't work, but I think it is because of user error. I just have to figure it out and I should be good to go. I'll report back son.

 

Thanks!

Mentor
229 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Post 5 of 6

Re: buffering a 3d line

09-04-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: emandeno

If you are looking for volume, make sure you after you start the command you type MODE -> Solid.

 

Can't get the Volume of a surface now can you :smileylol:

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-14-2012
Post 6 of 6

Re: buffering a 3d line

09-04-2012 03:14 PM in reply to: emandeno

Yup! That worked. Thanks.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post