AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Jfactory
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 1 of 7 (553 Views)
Accepted Solution

Best way to reference a Sid raster image and have it clippable?

553 Views, 6 Replies
04-05-2013 02:19 PM

Hi,

 

I'm still learning some of the basics in the AutoCAD Map features.  Most of my work has been using a map that is connected to data.  My raster image is connected to a Sid file which covers more area than I usually need to work with.

 

What is the best way to work with a small area at a time? I cannot seem to imageclip the connected raster image.

 

Thanks for help for probably a pretty basic question.

With data connection to a raster file you can zoom in to the area then right click on the raster layer in the display manager and do a refesh. Now you can zoom out if you need to and it somewhat acts like a clipped image. Just watch the regens or redraw commands.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,089
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (541 Views)

Re: Best way to reference a Sid raster image and have it clippable?

04-05-2013 03:28 PM in reply to: Jfactory

With data connection to a raster file you can zoom in to the area then right click on the raster layer in the display manager and do a refesh. Now you can zoom out if you need to and it somewhat acts like a clipped image. Just watch the regens or redraw commands.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 3 of 7 (532 Views)

Re: Best way to reference a Sid raster image and have it clippable?

04-06-2013 01:48 AM in reply to: Murph

In my AutoCAD Map that function is called "Resample Raster".

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,089
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (529 Views)

Re: Best way to reference a Sid raster image and have it clippable?

04-06-2013 03:41 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

bingeomatics wrote:

In my AutoCAD Map that function is called "Resample Raster".


Correct, I had a brain freeze and didn't verify as I replied.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Contributor
Jfactory
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 5 of 7 (515 Views)

Re: Best way to reference a Sid raster image and have it clippable?

04-06-2013 03:13 PM in reply to: Murph

Thank you for the replies. I'll have to try this out when I'm at work on Monday :smileyhappy:

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 6 of 7 (508 Views)

Re: Best way to reference a Sid raster image and have it clippable?

04-07-2013 02:59 AM in reply to: Jfactory

Depending on the image file size and your computer capability try _mapiinsert, zoom extents, zoom window to the area you need, and _view to view manager and NEW named view.  You can then select the view by the name in the list ad quickly get to the area of the image you want to see.  this avoids the resample raster routine also.

 

dave

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,404
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 7 of 7 (503 Views)

Re: Best way to reference a Sid raster image and have it clippable?

04-07-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: parkr4st

 

Hello

 

If you are using FDO sources (Rasters, SHP, SDF, SQLite, etc), you can use the MAPUPDATEMAP command

to update ALL FDO connections ... It's very useful !

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.