AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
ljohnstone
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 1 of 20 (3,979 Views)

Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

3979 Views, 19 Replies
04-09-2010 07:34 AM
Hello,

I was just wondering if someone could please help me out with the Bearing and Distance "Button" or icon in Map 3D. I have used this button before in past versions and have had no problems, but it seems that it is not working now. That is... it will let me enter the quadrant and the easting or northing but as soon as I enter the distance the command cancelss and nothing happens....it just stops working and exits out of the command. I have attached a screen shot of what it looks like. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
lmj
*Murph
Message 2 of 20 (3,978 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

04-09-2010 09:42 AM in reply to: ljohnstone
What command are you using it with?


--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"ljohnstone" wrote in message news:6370286@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hello,

I was just wondering if someone could please help me out with the Bearing
and Distance "Button" or icon in Map 3D. I have used this button before in
past versions and have had no problems, but it seems that it is not working
now. That is... it will let me enter the quadrant and the easting or
northing but as soon as I enter the distance the command cancelss and
nothing happens....it just stops working and exits out of the command. I
have attached a screen shot of what it looks like. Any help would be greatly
appreciated.

Thanks
lmj
Member
ljohnstone
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 3 of 20 (3,978 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

04-09-2010 10:45 AM in reply to: ljohnstone
Sorry, geuss I should have mentioned that. I am using it with the pline command. I want to draw a pline at a certain bearing and distance from a know end point.
Thanks
*Murph
Message 4 of 20 (3,978 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

04-09-2010 11:41 AM in reply to: ljohnstone
Works OK for me, are you selecting the start point before using the BD
command?


--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"ljohnstone" wrote in message news:6370443@discussion.autodesk.com...
Sorry, geuss I should have mentioned that. I am using it with the pline
command. I want to draw a pline at a certain bearing and distance from a
know end point.
Thanks
Member
ljohnstone
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 5 of 20 (3,978 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

04-09-2010 12:14 PM in reply to: ljohnstone
Yes, and it is still not working. someone suggested that I should run the latest service pack...which I have not done yet. I am going to try that.
thanks
Valued Contributor
rmacan
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎12-19-2005
Message 6 of 20 (3,953 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

07-20-2010 10:00 AM in reply to: ljohnstone

Hi LMJ,

I've been experiencing the same issue, the command cancels and nothing is drawn.  I tried it in MAP 2009 as well, and got the same result.  

Did you ever get it resolved? 

BTW, I have the latest service packs installed so that doesn't seem to be the issue.  Maybe it's a 64-bit OS issue?

 

Randy

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 20 (3,938 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

07-21-2010 05:06 AM in reply to: rmacan

It works in C3D 2010. Same command. I used the command line so I could show the steps. Text in braces are my comments.

 

Command: pline

Specify start point: [ select start point ]
Current line-width is 0.00000000
Specify next point or [Arc/Halfwidth/Length/Undo/Width]: 'bd [ initiate transparent command]

Quadrants - NE = 1, SE = 2, SW = 3, NW = 4

>>Specify quadrant (1-4): 1

Current direction unit: degree, Input: DD° MM' SS.SS" (spaced)

>>Specify bearing: 22.5619
>>Specify distance: 136.24 [ pline segment is draw as expected.]

 

You have to follow the steps

 

1)  Activate Command.

2)  Select Start Point.

3) Initiate transparent command.

4) input bearing then distance.

 

I think some of the procedures are counterintuitive and can lead to errors. I've been caught by this using the Angle distance command. I swore to everyone, including someone from Autodesk, that the command didn't work. It turned out that I wasn't following the EXACT method needed to get it to work.

 

Hope this helps

 

Allen

Valued Mentor
tzzzzoddhepworth4253
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Message 8 of 20 (3,904 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

07-22-2010 10:31 PM in reply to: ljohnstone

I'm having the same weird effect in 2011 - using the "Cogo" button from the Draw Panel of the Task-based Ribbon.

 

Trying to enter a point location from a survey plat with published state plane coordinates - drawing a line from the known point gives a command line result versus a graphical entity (line) in my drawing.  Strange

 

Command: bd Specify starting point: _nod of
Quadrants - NE = 1, SE = 2, SW = 3, NW = 4
Enter quadrant (1-4) <3>: 3

Enter bearing <73.3819>:

Specify distance <1557.68>:

"@1557.6800000000<196d37'5.160000\",0.0000000000"

Command:

 

Note:  I've turned off all of the settings like Dynamic input, osnaps, etc - no change in result, but thought it might impact what was happening.  when I first started the command from the button on the ribbon, I had a dialog box.  subsequent tries sent me to the command line entry.  I was about to post my own question when I saw this thread....

 

 

WIn7 64Bit, 6GB Ram

Valued Mentor
tzzzzoddhepworth4253
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Message 9 of 20 (3,902 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

07-22-2010 10:37 PM in reply to: tzzzzoddhepworth4253

it's too late in the evening - got back on the dialog box entry and I can see the line it would draw, but it is a phantom that dissapears when I exit the dialog box, also "create point" doesn't seem put a point at my cogo location like you think it would...  time to see what the morning brings :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 10 of 20 (3,896 Views)

Re: Bearing and Distance Command in AutoCAD Map 3D 2010

07-23-2010 05:20 AM in reply to: tzzzzoddhepworth4253

These are "Transparent Commands". They must be issued while in another command. If you want to draw a line you must first start the line command then hit Bearing and Distance. If you want to enter a point you must first start a command that will create the point. In your case it looks like you'd be using Northing and Easting.

 

Allen

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.