AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Post 1 of 6
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

478 Views, 5 Replies
12-14-2012 12:42 PM

 

Question?

 

  Is it possible and if so how...

 

  If i connect to an Access Database and link to the blocks in my drawing, Can i have the drawing only show the blocks that i have quried in my database or does it just highlight the data in the database?

 

Create a new Map from the display manager, Add data based on a query.

Active Contributor
41 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Post 2 of 6

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-14-2012 02:00 PM in reply to: Goldhound

I use an Access Database. I can query only those objects asked for into a drawing or I can highlight those entries in the database by selecting the centroid or block in my base drawing. So the short answer is yes, if I am reading your question right.

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Post 3 of 6

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-17-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Thanks, I know i can highlight the records but i am not sure how to display on the map only the blocks that i queried.

 

Example, I have 200+ thousand blocks plotted on my map and each one represents a seperate item. I have all blocks linked to my Access Database..

 

  Say i query only the blocks that represent a blue item and say there are 25 blocks that equal this. Out of the 200+ Thousand blocks in my drawing.. all that is displayed on the screen is what is in my query, the 25 blue blocks...

 

  This is what i want to be able to do...

 

 

any ideas?

Active Contributor
41 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Post 4 of 6

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-17-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Yes, if the data in the Access database has that detail in one of the fields. You can load the topology for that drawing and execute your query based on the data you want shown.

*Expert Elite*
2,138 Posts
205 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 5 of 6

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-17-2012 04:40 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Create a new Map from the display manager, Add data based on a query.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Post 6 of 6

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-22-2012 07:44 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Thanks!!!

 

Sometimes you cant see the forest for the trees.....

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post