AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Goldhound
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Message 1 of 6 (453 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

453 Views, 5 Replies
12-14-2012 12:42 PM

 

Question?

 

  Is it possible and if so how...

 

  If i connect to an Access Database and link to the blocks in my drawing, Can i have the drawing only show the blocks that i have quried in my database or does it just highlight the data in the database?

 

Active Contributor
bandit1965
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 2 of 6 (447 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-14-2012 02:00 PM in reply to: Goldhound

I use an Access Database. I can query only those objects asked for into a drawing or I can highlight those entries in the database by selecting the centroid or block in my base drawing. So the short answer is yes, if I am reading your question right.

Member
Goldhound
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Message 3 of 6 (420 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-17-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Thanks, I know i can highlight the records but i am not sure how to display on the map only the blocks that i queried.

 

Example, I have 200+ thousand blocks plotted on my map and each one represents a seperate item. I have all blocks linked to my Access Database..

 

  Say i query only the blocks that represent a blue item and say there are 25 blocks that equal this. Out of the 200+ Thousand blocks in my drawing.. all that is displayed on the screen is what is in my query, the 25 blue blocks...

 

  This is what i want to be able to do...

 

 

any ideas?

Active Contributor
bandit1965
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 4 of 6 (414 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-17-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Yes, if the data in the Access database has that detail in one of the fields. You can load the topology for that drawing and execute your query based on the data you want shown.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,947
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 6 (408 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-17-2012 04:40 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Create a new Map from the display manager, Add data based on a query.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Member
Goldhound
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Message 6 of 6 (383 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MAP AND ACCESS DATABASE

12-22-2012 07:44 PM in reply to: Goldhound

Thanks!!!

 

Sometimes you cant see the forest for the trees.....

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.