AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
rifraf700
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 1 of 4 (419 Views)

AutoCad Map 3d lidar bumps

419 Views, 3 Replies
09-25-2012 09:39 PM

Hi,

I am new with this point cloud thingy. I managed to get my hands on some lidar data and i am looking to build a 3d cad model of the buildings from that data. I have played around with the features of AutoCad Map 3D but i'm having some difficulties. I managed to create an index file and from there, created a 3d surface. However, instead of getting nice buildings like the one video on youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mprICpGtbk), i got lots of spikes. Is there a way i can somehow churn all these spikes into something that looks like a decent building. Also i need to export the 3d surface but i see that the only option is the sdf extension. Is there a way i can get a tin file?

 

any sort of help will be deeply appreciated.


Thanks in advance.


Rif

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 4 (410 Views)

Re: AutoCad Map 3d lidar bumps

09-25-2012 11:33 PM in reply to: rifraf700

There's no way to convert point clouds into straight buildings, 'cause a raw Lidar survey is disturbed by trees, pylons, shadows, and so on.

You could transform that bunch of bumps in a better Tin fashion (but not good-looking) e.g. by means of the opensource Meshlab, sir.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,087
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 4 (383 Views)

Re: AutoCad Map 3d lidar bumps

09-26-2012 03:02 PM in reply to: rifraf700

Is the data classified? Look at the video at the 3:55 min timeline and on. 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 259
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 4 of 4 (362 Views)

Re: AutoCad Map 3d lidar bumps

09-28-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: rifraf700

I think the big thing from that video is that they only used the ground strike data to create a surface (i.e. they filtered the cloud data before creating a surface from it). The details you see for the building themselves are just the raw point cloud (not actual geometry). 

 

Cheers

 

- Mick

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2015 SP1
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000 (and another with GTX680)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.