AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
rckohler
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 1 of 5 (572 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 constant FATAL ERRORS

572 Views, 4 Replies
10-19-2012 12:41 PM

I just downloaded a free trial & was able to import one shape file... The error occured when I tried importing a second shape file. I was able to recover the drawing once starting the program back up. As soon as it opens, the fatal error occurs again. I was unable to get anywhere after that. The imported shape files are only 1MB & 3MB's "large". I was under the impression this is a full trial version. Are there any size restrictions with it? What can I do to fix this issue?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Robyn

Hi,

 

>> I was under the impression this is a full trial version. Are there any size restrictions with it?

The only restriction is the 30-day limitation, nothing else is different in functionality from the activated product.

 

Some questions to isolate the problem (hopefully):

  • Where do you have the SHP-data from?
  • Have you tried to use _DATACONNECT to not import, but reference the SHP-data into your current drawing?
  • What coordinate-system do you use / which coordinate-system comes the SHP from?
  • Do you have any othter product that shows these SHP without errors?

 

- alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (565 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 constant FATAL ERRORS

10-19-2012 03:20 PM in reply to: rckohler

Hi,

 

>> I was under the impression this is a full trial version. Are there any size restrictions with it?

The only restriction is the 30-day limitation, nothing else is different in functionality from the activated product.

 

Some questions to isolate the problem (hopefully):

  • Where do you have the SHP-data from?
  • Have you tried to use _DATACONNECT to not import, but reference the SHP-data into your current drawing?
  • What coordinate-system do you use / which coordinate-system comes the SHP from?
  • Do you have any othter product that shows these SHP without errors?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
rckohler
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 3 of 5 (540 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 constant FATAL ERRORS

10-22-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: rckohler

I added a few shp files into my drawing using Data Connect. So far, no issues.

Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (536 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 constant FATAL ERRORS

10-22-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: rckohler

Hi,

 

>> I added a few shp files into my drawing using Data Connect. So far, no issues.

does that mean that you can work now as you need?

...or is that just the confirmation for "the shape-files are ok"? (then I miss the answers to the other questions)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
rckohler
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 5 of 5 (530 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 constant FATAL ERRORS

10-22-2012 06:38 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Yes, I can work in my file as I need. The shp data is from Michigan GeoRef (MGRm). I am currently using M183-OB coordinate system (meters); which is what the shp files use.

Thanks again for the help!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.