AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
lj.cross
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,137 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 - Selection Sets Bug

1137 Views, 6 Replies
05-07-2010 08:11 PM
Hi all,

I'm having problems with AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 (32-bit) exhausting its number of selection sets. I believe this is an internal problem to the base software, as it has happening since I installed it 'out of the box'. I know that our own customisations and LISP routines are not causing the number of selection sets to be exhausted, because I found the problem before running the program with third party add ons.

The symptons of this error are that AutoCAD will stop running commands that use a selection set. On occasions it will give an error message stating that the maximum number of selection sets has been reached (which I understand is 128). At this point, the objects on screen that are selected cannot be deselected, nor can a command involving any selection set be run. I usually force a saveas, exit the drawing and reopen it.

This problem is happening only 10 - 15 minutes into a session (although it depends on how quickly you're creating new selection sets). However, it is very inconvient and it will stop us from rolling out the new software to users until it's resolved.

For whatever reason AutoCAD doesn't seem to be clearing its selection sets internally.

Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

L. Cross.

Hi L. Cross,

 

This is a known issue in AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 and can be resolved by installing a recent Hotifx that is located here - http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15258272&linkID=9240858.

 

 

Mentor
tjmapper
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 2 of 7 (1,136 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 - Selection Sets Bug

05-10-2010 06:37 AM in reply to: lj.cross
We are having the same issue, but i dont believe developers read this forum. You might need to file a support ticket through your subscription to notify them of the problem. I have one on file but no response yet.
Active Member
carl.lowrey
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-02-2008
Message 3 of 7 (1,109 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 - Selection Sets Bug

06-21-2010 10:16 PM in reply to: lj.cross

We have encounted the same problem with both 32bit Windows XP and 64bit Windows 7 versions durring our pre deployment evaluation.

I have posted a support request to Autodesk with no solution to date.

We will not be deploying this release until a solution to this significant problem is provided.:smileymad:

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,009
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 7 (1,103 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 - Selection Sets Bug

06-22-2010 06:06 AM in reply to: lj.cross

You can check this out.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Architectural-Desktop/Error-exceeded-maximum-number-of-select...

 

Any lisp of third party can cause this problem if they define selection set variables that are global. Try running the Garbage Collection lisp function Type: (GC) . See if that frees up the selection sets.

 

Allen

 

Employee
Katie.Jacques
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 5 of 7 (1,091 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 - Selection Sets Bug

06-22-2010 12:47 PM in reply to: lj.cross

Hi L. Cross,

 

This is a known issue in AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 and can be resolved by installing a recent Hotifx that is located here - http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15258272&linkID=9240858.

 

 



Katie Jacques
Product Support Technical Lead - GIS
Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
carl.lowrey
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-02-2008
Message 6 of 7 (1,075 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 - Selection Sets Bug

06-22-2010 02:47 PM in reply to: lj.cross

Thanks Katie - this fixed the issue.

 

A little disapointing though that this did not get picked up in your pre release testing and required a hotfix. The \HELPHTML folder issue also caused us problems with the deployment - all in all not a good look for Autodesk and a waste of quite a few hours in trying to resolve these issues.

 

I note also that I still have not had a direct response back from my support request yet...

 

Cheers

 

Carl

Contributor
Marco_Caprez
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-21-2004
Message 7 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 - Selection Sets Bug

11-25-2011 12:28 AM in reply to: Katie.Jacques

Hi Katie,

We have the same phenomena here with a AutoCAD Mechanical 2011 (64bit Win7). I could not find a hot fix over there. Do you know anything from the mechanical guys about this issue or can you get information from them? 

 

Cheers, Marco

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.