AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
MCR%C3%B6sgen
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 1 of 5 (540 Views)

AutoCAD Map 2009 compatible with ArcGIS 9.3 ??

540 Views, 4 Replies
11-26-2008 12:09 AM
Hi,

I wonder if AutoCAD Map version 2009 is compatible with ArcGIS 9.3?

On Autodesks website it says that AutoCAD Map 3D 2009 is compatible with...

"ESRI ArcSDE Server 9.2 and 9.1 with Oracle9i R2 (9.2.0.3), Oracle 10gR2, or Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (SP2) and 2000 (SP4) (FDO Data Access Technology)."

Is there anybody who tried to access GIS-data in ArcGIS 9.3 (Microsoft SQL Server) from AutoCAD Map version 2009?? Does it work? Maybe with some extra dll-files?

We had problems to access GIS data in ArcGIS 9.2 from AutoCAD Map version 2008. We succeeded to access GIS-data in ArcGIS 9.2 in AutoCAD Map 2009 after we installed som extra dll-files (pe.dll, sde.dll, sg.dll) in this folder:

C:\Programmer\AutoCAD Map 3D 2009\FDO\bin

Thank you very much for your help in advance!

Cheers, Markus

GIS-department
Sønderborg Kommune
Denmark
*Tripp Corbin
Message 2 of 5 (540 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 2009 compatible with ArcGIS 9.3 ??

12-01-2008 04:49 AM in reply to: MCR%C3%B6sgen

I have seen a few post on here where folks have
successfully connected to an ArcGIS 9.3 SDE instance using Map 2009 though I
have not tried it myself. So it is possible.


--
Tripp Corbin, MCP, CFM, GISP
Vice President, GIS/IT
ESRI
Authorized Instructor
Keck & Wood, Inc.
(678) 417-4013
(678)
417-8785 fax
www.keckwood.com


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Hi,
I wonder if AutoCAD Map version 2009 is compatible with ArcGIS 9.3? On
Autodesks website it says that AutoCAD Map 3D 2009 is compatible with... "ESRI
ArcSDE Server 9.2 and 9.1 with Oracle9i R2 (9.2.0.3), Oracle 10gR2, or
Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (SP2) and 2000 (SP4) (FDO Data Access Technology)."
Is there anybody who tried to access GIS-data in ArcGIS 9.3 (Microsoft SQL
Server) from AutoCAD Map version 2009?? Does it work? Maybe with some extra
dll-files? We had problems to access GIS data in ArcGIS 9.2 from AutoCAD Map
version 2008. We succeeded to access GIS-data in ArcGIS 9.2 in AutoCAD Map
2009 after we installed som extra dll-files (pe.dll, sde.dll, sg.dll) in this
folder: C:\Programmer\AutoCAD Map 3D 2009\FDO\bin Thank you very much for your
help in advance! Cheers, Markus GIS-department Sønderborg Kommune
Denmark
New Member
MCR%C3%B6sgen
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 3 of 5 (540 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 2009 compatible with ArcGIS 9.3 ??

12-01-2008 05:41 AM in reply to: MCR%C3%B6sgen
Hi Tripp,

Thanks for your answer. I searched this forum for posts about ArcGIS 9.3 but unfortunately without success.
Would you please send me some links to the posts you mentioned in your thread?

Thanks in advance.

Markus
Member
mark.christian
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 4 of 5 (540 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 2009 compatible with ArcGIS 9.3 ??

12-01-2008 01:48 PM in reply to: MCR%C3%B6sgen
Hello Markus,

Out of the box, AutoCAD Map 3D 2009 officially supports ArcSDE version 9.2. We have had some reports from customers that they have successfully connected AutoCAD Map 3D 2009 to 9.3 (using the 9.2 ESRI dlls).

Please see the following white paper for useful information on using AutoCAD Map 3D with ESRI ArcSDE:

http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/files/autocad_map_3d_and_esri_arcsde_white_paper_0808.pdf

Regards,

-Mark Christian
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
deeluke12
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 5 of 5 (540 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Map 2009 compatible with ArcGIS 9.3 ??

02-02-2010 10:03 AM in reply to: MCR%C3%B6sgen
Hello,

I have the same question as the original poster. I posted last week on the forums about this. We are using Map 3D 2009 and had successfully been connecting to our server by way of WMS, then one day they upgrade the server to 9.3 and now when we go to connect to our Aerial photos with the WMS connection we can log in and see the photos, but when we check them and hit the Add to map button AutoCAD tells us it cannot import the data and connect to the server. Does Map 2010 resolve this issue? Does anybody have a clue how to get it back up and running? We installed the ESRI AutoCAD Client 9.3.1 but it seriously lacks in operability than working with the native AutoCAD Connection guide and Task Pane.

Any help would be awesome,

Lee
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.