AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 1 of 16 (202 Views)

Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

202 Views, 15 Replies
11-07-2013 01:03 PM

I am a fairly new user of the Map 3D.  We have a map created for our city with all our utilites, zoning, etc. plotted out and we have some very old aerial imagery attached to it. 

 

Just a few months ago, Pictometry flew some new hi-res imagery for me.  I have individual ortho tiles and one large ortho-mosaic.  When I try to install the imagery, it doesn't line up anywhere close to where it should be on the map.  How can I go about getting my imagery and my map lined up?

 

Thanks for any help

 

Brian

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,711
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 16 (199 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: bkesting

Command: _ADERSHEET

Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 3 of 16 (193 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 01:54 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks for the suggestion.  I can't quite seem to get it to work right, but I'll keep messing around with that command.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,029
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 16 (184 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 03:17 PM in reply to: bkesting

Check the coordinate system for both the image and your base map/dwg.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 5 of 16 (179 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 03:19 PM in reply to: Murph

Here's how new I am to this product.......how do I find the coordinate system for my base drawing?

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,029
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 16 (170 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 03:40 PM in reply to: bkesting

In newer versions it's on the Stataus bar.

Coordinates.PNG

 

On older systems type in _MAPCSASSIGN.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,711
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 7 of 16 (151 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 11:03 PM in reply to: bkesting
bkesting wrote:

I'll keep messing around with that command


As first attempt, I'd try to line up the imagery to the vector, by means of the simple _ALIGN command.

Afterwards, I'd run the "fine tuning" of the powerful _ADERSHEET routine.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,029
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 16 (142 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-08-2013 03:47 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Be careful of the rubbersheeting or that command. Do a save of the dwg before you use it and saveas after each move or edit. I have seen too many users end up with trash and no way to get back to the original work.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Mentor
fieldguy
Posts: 376
Registered: ‎03-31-2005
Message 9 of 16 (127 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-08-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: bkesting

What format did you receive the orthos in?  The easiest (for alignment purposes) is TIFF images with TFW "world files".

Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 10 of 16 (124 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-08-2013 07:31 AM in reply to: fieldguy

My current base map doesn't appear to have any coordinate system applied to it.  It must just be "floating in space".

 

My ortho imagery (tiles and mosaic) are in .ecw fomat.  (Though I think I can convert them if need be).

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.