AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 1 of 16 (201 Views)

Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

201 Views, 15 Replies
11-07-2013 01:03 PM

I am a fairly new user of the Map 3D.  We have a map created for our city with all our utilites, zoning, etc. plotted out and we have some very old aerial imagery attached to it. 

 

Just a few months ago, Pictometry flew some new hi-res imagery for me.  I have individual ortho tiles and one large ortho-mosaic.  When I try to install the imagery, it doesn't line up anywhere close to where it should be on the map.  How can I go about getting my imagery and my map lined up?

 

Thanks for any help

 

Brian

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,669
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 16 (198 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: bkesting

Command: _ADERSHEET

Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 3 of 16 (192 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 01:54 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks for the suggestion.  I can't quite seem to get it to work right, but I'll keep messing around with that command.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,988
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 16 (183 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 03:17 PM in reply to: bkesting

Check the coordinate system for both the image and your base map/dwg.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 5 of 16 (178 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 03:19 PM in reply to: Murph

Here's how new I am to this product.......how do I find the coordinate system for my base drawing?

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,988
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 16 (169 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 03:40 PM in reply to: bkesting

In newer versions it's on the Stataus bar.

Coordinates.PNG

 

On older systems type in _MAPCSASSIGN.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,669
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 7 of 16 (150 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-07-2013 11:03 PM in reply to: bkesting
bkesting wrote:

I'll keep messing around with that command


As first attempt, I'd try to line up the imagery to the vector, by means of the simple _ALIGN command.

Afterwards, I'd run the "fine tuning" of the powerful _ADERSHEET routine.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,988
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 16 (141 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-08-2013 03:47 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Be careful of the rubbersheeting or that command. Do a save of the dwg before you use it and saveas after each move or edit. I have seen too many users end up with trash and no way to get back to the original work.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Mentor
fieldguy
Posts: 371
Registered: ‎03-31-2005
Message 9 of 16 (126 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-08-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: bkesting

What format did you receive the orthos in?  The easiest (for alignment purposes) is TIFF images with TFW "world files".

Active Member
bkesting
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 10 of 16 (123 Views)

Re: Adding imagery to Map 3D 2012 file

11-08-2013 07:31 AM in reply to: fieldguy

My current base map doesn't appear to have any coordinate system applied to it.  It must just be "floating in space".

 

My ortho imagery (tiles and mosaic) are in .ecw fomat.  (Though I think I can convert them if need be).

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.