AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jeffb1910
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 1 of 14 (271 Views)

2.5D Buildings

271 Views, 13 Replies
04-27-2012 12:51 AM

Hi,

I want to create 2.5D Buildings, like at google maps website.

example

anyone know how to do it?

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,703
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 14 (268 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 01:09 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Select your lines or 2D poly, then Properties and change the THICKNESS value.

If you wanna instead get 3D objects, simply issue _EXTRUDE on closed polylines. 

Active Member
jeffb1910
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 3 of 14 (248 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

I press "connect" and then "Add SHP Connection".

I Chose the 2D shp file, connect it and then add to map.

I have height value and i want to create 2.5D Buildings from my data, like google maps example

what is my next step?

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 14 (244 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 09:43 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

 

in that case you can't use the FDO technology as you need AutoCAD polylines for extrusion.

So use command _MAPIMPORT, after you selected type SHP and the filename don't forget in the next dialog to go to the 3rd tab and mark "use closed polylines for polygons" (not the exact wording).

Then you have polylines and can do what antoniovinci suggested to do.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
jeffb1910
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 5 of 14 (240 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

i used the mapimport command and its import points instead polygon

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 14 (237 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

 

what version of Map3D do you have?

Are you sure that you selected the correct SHP-file? Because I don't know any option within Map3D that creates points from a polygonal shape!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
jeffb1910
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 7 of 14 (236 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

AutoCAD Map 3D 2013

Active Member
jeffb1910
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 8 of 14 (235 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

it was my mistake! sorry!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 14 (233 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

 

>> it was my mistake! sorry!

Could happen always and to everyone, don't worry!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
jeffb1910
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 10 of 14 (232 Views)

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi,

Now i can see the 2d polygon of buildings.

i have the height value for the polygons.

How i can convert the polygon to 2.5D like google maps?

Thanks! 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.