AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 1 of 14

2.5D Buildings

291 Views, 13 Replies
04-27-2012 12:51 AM

Hi,

I want to create 2.5D Buildings, like at google maps website.

example

anyone know how to do it?

*Expert Elite*
1,795 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 2 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 01:09 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Select your lines or 2D poly, then Properties and change the THICKNESS value.

If you wanna instead get 3D objects, simply issue _EXTRUDE on closed polylines. 

Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 3 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

I press "connect" and then "Add SHP Connection".

I Chose the 2D shp file, connect it and then add to map.

I have height value and i want to create 2.5D Buildings from my data, like google maps example

what is my next step?

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
9,831 Posts
1,218 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 4 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 09:43 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

 

in that case you can't use the FDO technology as you need AutoCAD polylines for extrusion.

So use command _MAPIMPORT, after you selected type SHP and the filename don't forget in the next dialog to go to the 3rd tab and mark "use closed polylines for polygons" (not the exact wording).

Then you have polylines and can do what antoniovinci suggested to do.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 5 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

i used the mapimport command and its import points instead polygon

 

*Expert Elite*
9,831 Posts
1,218 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 6 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

 

what version of Map3D do you have?

Are you sure that you selected the correct SHP-file? Because I don't know any option within Map3D that creates points from a polygonal shape!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 7 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

AutoCAD Map 3D 2013

Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 8 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

it was my mistake! sorry!

*Expert Elite*
9,831 Posts
1,218 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 9 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: jeffb1910

Hi,

 

>> it was my mistake! sorry!

Could happen always and to everyone, don't worry!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Post 10 of 14

Re: 2.5D Buildings

04-27-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi,

Now i can see the 2d polygon of buildings.

i have the height value for the polygons.

How i can convert the polygon to 2.5D like google maps?

Thanks! 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!