AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
GeorgeBostock
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2011
Message 11 of 34 (4,050 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

10-04-2011 06:24 PM in reply to: wrdk

Hi

My office just purchased the Microsoft Wireless Mouse 5000 because the one I had died. The 5000 is a good looking mouse but is not good to use with AutoCAD. What I am finding frustrating is that i cannot seem to get the middle scroll button to work properly with the Pan command. When you click down on it the mouse does not Pan properly and it is driving me crazy!

 

I called Logitech about the MX Revolution as a few of you said it was good, but they said the buttons cannot be re-configured? So does this mean this mouse does not have the capability to Pan when the scroll button is pressed like the 5000?

 

This function is important so when I am drawing and still in mid command i can press the scroll and Pan across the drawing to carry on with the command.

 

Can anyone help with this please? Maybe another type of mouse would be better?

 

Many thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 12 of 34 (4,043 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

10-05-2011 04:43 AM in reply to: GeorgeBostock

MS Wireless 5000 here.

No problem with the pan function.

 

MBUTTONPAN set to 1?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
GeorgeBostock
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2011
Message 13 of 34 (4,025 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

10-05-2011 03:12 PM in reply to: GeorgeBostock

hi thanks for the reply. yes the MBUTTONPAN is set to 1. it does pan but not very well. sometimes i have to press it a couple of times to get it working, and then sometimes it zooms really close in or far out which makes the whole process very frustrating. it took me almost 3 hours yesterday to do a drawing that should have taken around 2 hours because everything was jumping around.

 

it also does not work well when in mid command. i use the sketch command a lot and when i pan across the drawing, instead of keeping the cursor on the screen in the same place the cursor also pans back so i end up with zig-zag lines.

 

if you are not having these issues then maybe my mouse has not been set up properly, or its a dud!

 

thanks

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 14 of 34 (4,019 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

10-05-2011 05:44 PM in reply to: GeorgeBostock

Using that lousy mini USB reciever they send with it?

Mine is on a male-female USB cable near where the mouse resides. Will not work 3.27' feet away at the desktop

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,421
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 15 of 34 (4,013 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

10-05-2011 10:12 PM in reply to: wrdk
Another idea: win7 NY chance? Stop using the Aero display theme and switch to Windows Classic theme instead.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
bcheeseman
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-31-2005
Message 16 of 34 (3,490 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

01-25-2012 05:38 AM in reply to: GeorgeBostock

For years I used Kensington progammable mice with the MouseWorks software. There was a long line of the mice and I could program buttons for 7 different functions. I had an Esc button that saved hitting Escape on the keyboard, and other buttons I programmed to avoid needing to use the keyboard so much. But now  Kensington ended the line and the MouseWorks software is not compatible with Windows 7. These were great comfortable mice.

Active Contributor
Lawson2011
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-05-2011
Message 17 of 34 (3,470 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

01-26-2012 01:25 PM in reply to: GeorgeBostock

Hello, hope this is helpful, I use a Logitech M705 mouse with 8 buttons, if I go into the software that come with the mouse I can program buttons 4 - 8 to do what I like specifically to AutoCad....see attached JPEG image

 

 

logitech.JPG

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,421
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 18 of 34 (3,467 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

01-26-2012 01:37 PM in reply to: Lawson2011

I've used the same exact wired Logitech 3-button Trackball for a decade, and let Windows run it: never stopped me from being totally productive in AutoCAD either.

 

Point of the thread (for anyone reading, not aimed at anyone here): there is no one mouse (or keyboard or screen etc.) for everyone, you've got to the find the one that works best for you.

 

Happy Cadding.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 19 of 34 (3,461 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

01-26-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: Lawson2011

I don't use programmable buttons at all... just a simple little Logitech M505 notebook wireless from Costco.  Every one for all my computers has worked straight out of the box with AutoCAD.  None have as yet ever failed nor behaved anything but perfectly.  I gave up on any mice made by Microsoft years ago.  Had nothing but hassles or early life failures with them.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 20 of 34 (3,452 Views)

Re: What is the best mouse to use for AutoCAD

01-27-2012 04:46 AM in reply to: heinsite

Juxtaposition - Nothing but MS mice for for as I do not like the Logitech mice detentes.

Never tried other brands that are mentioned from time to time but do truly believe that I could not teach my hand when to click seven or eight different buttons nor for that matter potentially distort my addled hand to do so.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.