AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Member
benlubberts
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 1 of 6 (406 Views)

Viewport anomaly - help please

406 Views, 5 Replies
07-07-2011 09:54 AM

Hello fellow autocad associates.

 

I have multiple viewports in one layout. They do not overlap because I initially created them as polygons, converted into regions, subtracted from each other, then converted into viewports. So everything is nice and orderly.

 

All my layers are thawed, unlocked.

 

After working on a different layout and then closing and reopening the file, the first viewport created (the largest one) has gone rogue. It's borders seem to be the size of the entire layout, overlapping the other viewports. I cannot delete it as it's borders are no visible, hence I also cannot select it. But it is a nucience because it is overtop of my other viewports meaning it is the default when I pan in model space!

 

I hope I don't have to delete this layout and start again. Has anyone come across this before?!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,728
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 6 (400 Views)

Re: Viewport anomaly - help please

07-07-2011 12:33 PM in reply to: benlubberts

Thaw and turn ON all layers, then REGENALL if needed, to get the layer the viewports are on to be visible for you to select.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
benlubberts
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 3 of 6 (382 Views)

Re: Viewport anomaly - help please

07-10-2011 11:56 AM in reply to: pendean

All layers are on and visible, and all layers are thawed. I have regenerated and audited both in model and layout space.

Still the view remains without any borders.

 

I wonder if it has anything to do with making my original polygon into a region and then creating a viewport from that region?? If so, how do I edit this invisible region?

 

When I get to work I will post a screen shot to show what is going on...

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,728
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 6 (373 Views)

Re: Viewport anomaly - help please

07-11-2011 05:39 AM in reply to: benlubberts
Viewport boundaries cannot be invisible with all layers on and thawed: post your file for someone else to examine.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
katani
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 5 of 6 (369 Views)

Re: Viewport anomaly - help please

07-11-2011 05:55 AM in reply to: pendean

Try doing this. First select the good viewports and move them to a new layer and freeze that layer then open the properties window and issue QSELECT. In the object type flyout select region (If you originally used a region to convert it to a viewport it should still be there) hit OK to dismiss the window. Now you can see it's properties in the properies window or just delete it or delete the whole viewport by slecting viewport in the QSELECT window.

 

There used to be a thread on this forum describing a similar problem. The viewport was a clipped viewport and the user miraculously managed to remove the clipping boundary which made the viewport border invisible.

Valued Contributor
katani
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 6 of 6 (343 Views)

Re: Viewport anomaly - help please

07-11-2011 07:36 AM in reply to: benlubberts

Sorry, replied to the wrong person.

 

 



Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.