AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
architec-tor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎06-02-2004
Message 1 of 8 (140 Views)
Accepted Solution

Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line command

140 Views, 7 Replies
03-17-2012 07:25 PM

Prior to upgrading to 2012, I was able to do the following:

1) turn on computer

2) start an autocad drawing by double clicking on an existign drawing file

3) draw in autocad for a while

(at this point you should assume everything is normal and working fine with no problems)

4) I draw an X-line and repeat the x-line to several points without typing anything else

- one of the x-lines get's accidentally snapped to the wrong place

5) while still in the x-line command, I type "U" (undo) and the x-line to the wrong point is deleted

6) I continue snapping x-lines and contnue drawing without typing any new commands...

 

In the new 2012 version, I am unable to "UNDO" the accidental x-line (step 5) without exiting the x-line command

 

Is it possible to get the undo command to work again in the middle of snapping x-lines?

Thanks! 

It doesn't do it in AutoCAD/LT 2011/2012 which I have access, I don't recall if LT2010/2009 had it or not I don't XLINE that extensively. If Charlie is around, he may still have LT2009 to confirm (but, in the meantime, bad news I'm afraid).

It is unusual: wonder why they it's not a feature of RAY and XLINE.

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 2 of 8 (137 Views)

Re: Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line comman

03-17-2012 09:15 PM in reply to: architec-tor

It doesn't look like it.  Following your procedure in my version of AutoCAD LT it didn't work either.  The U (undo) command does not appear to be a recognized option within the XLINE command.

 

I have 2011 installed on another computer... I'll have to look and see if it works for me there.  But that's as far back as I'd be able to test.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,646
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 8 (127 Views)

Re: Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line comman

03-19-2012 04:51 AM in reply to: architec-tor

What prior version of AutoCAD/LT did this? Are you sure it was XLINE command, and not LINE or PLINE instead?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
architec-tor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎06-02-2004
Message 4 of 8 (122 Views)

Re: Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line comman

03-19-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: pendean

My previous version was 2008, and yes, it was the XLINE command that I was using.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,646
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 8 (117 Views)

Re: Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line comman

03-19-2012 12:50 PM in reply to: architec-tor

It doesn't do it in AutoCAD/LT 2011/2012 which I have access, I don't recall if LT2010/2009 had it or not I don't XLINE that extensively. If Charlie is around, he may still have LT2009 to confirm (but, in the meantime, bad news I'm afraid).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 8 (113 Views)

Re: Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line comman

03-19-2012 12:58 PM in reply to: pendean

Only have LT 2012 installed here.

Doesn't sound like normal behaviour from previous versions though.

 

Could this have been a Macro that has not been brought over perhaps?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Distinguished Contributor
architec-tor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎06-02-2004
Message 7 of 8 (110 Views)

Re: Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line comman

03-19-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

No, I don't know anything about macros, but I have been using the XLINE command for many years and have gotten used to "undoing" my accidental snaps and moving on as a very convenient feature. Incidentally, the UNDO command to correct an unwanted line does work in the middle of many other drawing commands so this did not appear unusal to me.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,646
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 8 (109 Views)

Re: Using UNDO to erase the most recent x-line without exiting the x-line comman

03-19-2012 01:25 PM in reply to: architec-tor

It is unusual: wonder why they it's not a feature of RAY and XLINE.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.